Beef Strogonoff

Last Sunday’s Stuffed Beef Tenderloin only used the center cut of the $33 sale-priced tenderloin.  Today, I am left with the question of how to use remaining parts of the tenderloin.

Answer:  Cut it up into cubes and make Beef Strogonoff. I pound the beef to make even more tender, then brown the beef in a skillet, and deglaze the pan from the moisture as I saute the onions and mushrooms. After adding the broth and letting the meat finish cooking, I add the egg noodles directly in with the meat.  Off heat I mix in some sour cream and a lemon juice. The Result: A delicious easy to make dinner (though it does take 90-minutes to 2-hours). Not nearly as “special” as the Stuffed Tenderloin, but perfect for a weekday meal. The complete recipe is here.

Issues:

  1. First, saying that this meal costs $18 to make is a little misleading, because I already had the “scraps” from Sunday’s meal. I wouldn’t buy beef tenderloin just for this recipe. I’d spend the $15 of something else. (or substitute another cut)
  2. Even though I’m using tenderloin, it was a little tough after simmering in the broth for 30 minutes.  I find that using a meat pounder to tenderize the beef really helps the final texture.

Rating: 4-star.
Cost: $18. Serves 6.
How much work? Low/Medium.
How big of a mess?  Low/Medium.
Start time 4:30 PM. Dinner time 6:15 PM.

BTW, this reeipe is a year or two old, so these don’t count towards my goal of 100 “new recipe”.

Egg noodles are cooked right in the covered skillet with the sauce.

One Response to Beef Strogonoff

  1. [...] 4-1/2-star. Great balanced flavor. My 9-year-old son said that it was reminiscent of Beef Strogonoff that I made in February. Checking back, he was exactly right; both are made of sauteed mushrooms and onions in a source [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 289 other followers

