Chocolate Ice Cream Cake

OK, I know I could have bought a pre-made ice cream cake for less money (and saved three-to-four days effort), but a year ago I promised my son that I would make him an ice cream cake for his birthday. So I started on Tuesday,  making chocolate ice cream using 8 oz of bittersweet chocolate, and poured into a wax paper-lined cake pan. Wednesday I made chocolate ice cream using 4 oz of bittersweet chocolate. Unfortunately, it wasn’t half a dark as I had hoped. Then things went downhill: I ran out of eggs and forgot to pre-freeze the  sleeve. Finally, on Friday I abandoned the third layer.

 

Ice Cream Cake

 

The chocolate ice cream recipe (from 1993) started by making a custard base. Heating in two stages; first heat the milk and cream to 175-degrees to melt the sugar, slowly add to the egg yolk/chocolate and re-heat to 185-degrees. Strain to remove any “texture” added by the cooking, cool, and process using ice cream maker. While a little more work than the traditional dump-and-freeze method, it does result in a smoother ice cream. Also, it has the advantage of not eating raw egg yolks.

Having conquered the two chocolate ice cream layers (and abandon the third chocolate chip layer), I was left with how to “frost” the cake.  Matthew wanted a hard “magic shell” like chocolate coating. After some research (mix chocolate with coconut oil), I ran out of steam, and ended up buying two bottles of Magic Shell.

Problems:

  1. After “frosting” the cake with Magic Shell, I didn’t cover it quickly enough with plastic wrap. As you can see, that oversight left a white frost (the real ice particle type of frost) all over the cake.  It didn’t affect taste, but detracted a bit from the overall presentation.
  2. Twice I forgot to add the vanilla to the ice cream.

Rating: 5-star.
Cost: $13.
How much work? Medium
How big of a mess?  Medium.
Started: Tuesday. Ready: Saturday.

3 Responses to Chocolate Ice Cream Cake

  1. Sues says:

    I’m a HUGE Chris Kimball fan so I’m loving your blog :) This cake looks delicious!

  2. Confucius says:

    Yikes! Happy birthday Tito!! (my living-calendar wife didn’t remind me about your birthday, sorry)

    Confucius, the Confused Chinese ^_^

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

