All-American Potato Salad

I give this recipe a 3-star, while my old standby potato salad is a 4-star. Why? My regular recipe has bolder flavors; balsamic in lieu of white vinegar; 1/2 onion in lieu of just 2 tablespoons, dijon in lieu of mustard powder.

But what I liked about this recipe is that it dices the potatoes prior to cooking; reducing cooking time to just 10 minutes.  Not only do the potatoes cook faster, but they also cook much more evenly. My fears of soggy potatoes were not realized because of the short cooking time. This recipe won’t replace my own, but I’ll definitely be modifying my recipe with this great technique.

Problems:

  1. Flavors were well rounded, but too mild.
  2. My potatoes were still hard after 8-minutes cooking. After about 12 minutes they were a good texture.

Rating: 3-star.
Cost: $2.
How much work? Low
How big of a mess?  Low.
Started: 4:30.  Ready:  5:00.

Classic mayonnaise-based American potato salad. The flavors need to be kicked up a notch.

One Response to All-American Potato Salad

  1. seashells4u says:

    Agreed i like the method of cooking the potatoes and will do this from here on out too. Good tip!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 274 other followers

