Braised Beef Short Ribs

Perhaps the most expensive non-holiday meal I’ve made. $29 ($23 for just the 4-lbs of boneless short ribs). But my 11 year-old son proclaimed it the best meal I’ve ever made; so in the end, that alone is worth every penny.

I started by browning the ribs in 3 batches on the stovetop, then sauteed the onions. I added garlic, beef broth, wine and carrots to the dutch oven, and finished in a 300-degree oven for 2-1/2 hours. Afterward while the meat rested, I strained the sauce and reduced it on the stovetop to 1 cup. Finally, I served over mashed potatoes (and buttered egg noodles for my 11 year-old son Matthew) and slathered with sauce.

The result is a definite 5-star recipe. While it took 4-1/2 hours of clock time, it wasn’t a lot of work, but I did have to stir twice during the 2-1/2 hours oven time which cut into my tennis time.

Braised Beef Ribs served over buttered egg noodles.

Problems:

  1. Went pretty flawlessly.
  2. I forgot to start the water for the egg noodles and mashed potatoes, which caused a 30-minute delay.

Rating: 5-star.
Cost: $29
How much work? Medium.
How big of a mess?  Medium.
Started: 2:00.  Ready:  6:30.

Braised Beef Ribs served with mashed potatoes. The first photo is with buttered egg noodles.

One Response to Braised Beef Short Ribs

  1. […] had never heard of Daube before, and at $36 this is my most expensive dinner yet. (previous most expensive was $29).  The closes stew I can compare it to is the famous Boeuf Bourguignon I made last January, which […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 324 other followers

