Super-Stuffed Baked Potato

Today was the first time I’ve ever tried Boursin cheese. Though very expensive (roughly$24/lb), its the best cheese I’ve ever eaten. Fortunately the 5.2 ounce packages was on sale for only $4 (only $12/lb).

Stuffed so full that it almost doesn't fit.

Made like my regular twice-baked potatoes (which are very spicy), but this recipe uses cheese and is rich and creamy. I microwaved the potatoes for 25 minutes, scooped out the meat, soaked the skins in butter and toasted in oven for 15 minutes.  Half the Boursin got mixed with 1/2 cup of half and half, then I used the mixture to make mashed potatoes. Added salt, pepper and chives;  stuffed the skins with the mashed potatoes mixture, and topped each potato with a little extra cheese. Finally back in the oven until lightly browned.

Bottom line: 4-star, which sounds pretty good, but the truth is I will probably never make this recipe again. Next time Boursin goes on sale I guarantee that I will eat the cheese alone; skipping this entire recipe. It doesn’t make sense to take an expensive 5-star cheese and dilute it into 4-star potatoes.

Problems:

  1. I didn’t line the baking sheet with foil, so the dripping butter practically ruined my baking sheet in the 475-degree oven. (20 minutes of scrubbing)
  2. The Boursin cheese that I used as a topping didn’t melt. Perhaps I didn’t crumble it enough.

Rating: 4-star.
Cost: $10.50 for 6 potatoes.
How much work? Low/Medium.
How big of a mess? Low/Medium.
Started: 5pm Ready:  6pm.

One Response to Super-Stuffed Baked Potato

  1. [...] Boursin Cheese I ate Boursin Cheese for the first time this week; it is truly delicious. If it didn’t cost $24/lb I would not hesitate to buy it every day. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

