Homemade Boursin Cheese

I ate Boursin Cheese for the first time this week; it is truly delicious. If it didn’t cost $24/lb I would not hesitate to buy it every day. After some research on the internet, I found that my high esteem for the cheese (and sadness at the high price tag) was a common theme. Unfortunately, I think I will rarely have the extra money to spend on mere cheese.

So, just as any cook worth his salt, I set out to create something just as delicious. The best news is that it cost just $2/lb to make. So long France, hello Philly.

Takes just minutes to prepare, but saves you $22/lb.

Recipe for Homemade Boursin-Style Cheese:

8 ounces cream cheese
1 tablespoons whipping cream (or half-and-half)
2-3 clove garlic, crushed
2 tablespoon fresh parsley, minced
1 tablespoon fresh chives, minced
1 sprig thyme, minced
1 teaspoon basil
1/2 teaspoon lemon pepper (not salt added)
A pinch salt (skip if your going to put them on salted crackers)

  • Let cream cheese soften on counter for 60 minutes, or microwave it for 20 seconds.
  • Beat all ingredients except in small mixer bowl on medium speed until smooth, about 3 minutes.
  • Pat into round, flat shape, or line round can or container with plastic wrap, press and cover.
  • Age at least 4 hours, but the flavor is better if you make it a few days ahead.
  • Refrigerate covered up to 2 weeks. Serve at room temperature.

I am in the process of growing parsley, chives and basil, but it was still too young to use today. I had most of the herbs already in my fridge.

Issues:

  1. The texture of the Faux Boursin is not as crumbly as the real thing. Still, as it will likely be spread upon something, the more spreadable texture is not a problem.
  2. At first I thought about making a close-or-exact replica. But after my first batch with the above recipe, I realized that this is equally delicious but not an exact copy.
  3. The $1.20 cost is because I already had the herbs in my fridge. Had I had to buy the parsley, basil and Chives it would more.

Rating: 5-star.
Cost: $1.20 for 1/2 pound.
How much work? Low.
How big of a mess?  Low.
Started: 4:00 pm Ready:  4:10.

One Response to Homemade Boursin Cheese

  1. [...] used the same recipe as before. It is here. A few notes: when mixing using the hand-mixed the cream cheese will get stuck, eventually it will [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 296 other followers

