More Fudge

Craving chocolate, I decided to make more fudge. But traditional fudge is very temperamental; it’s all about precision. The ideal temperature for the sugar syrup is 238 degrees-at 234 degrees, the fudge is soft and gooey, while at 242 degrees, it’s dry and crumbly.

Easy fudge made in 15 minutes without a candy thermometer.

Not feeling in the mood to be too precise, I made 15-minute fudge for a second time. It came out equally delicious, but I was bordering on a catastrophe, which leads me to the following warning:

WARNING: In a separate section of the recipe it said, “Make sure to remove the fudge from the double boiler before the chocolate is fully melted. If the chocolate stays in the double boiler too long, there is the possibility of the chocolate separating and producing a greasy fudge.”  Oblivious to the reaction that was taking place in front of my eyes, I mixed and mixed because there were still lumps. I noticed the changing texture and kept mixing. At the last minute I saw the warning and pulled it off the heat just in time. Catastrophe averted.

Recipe Rating: 5-star.
Cost: $7.50 for 2 pounds of fudge.
How much work? Low
How big of a mess?  Low.
Start time 2:00pm. Ready at 5:00pm.

3 Responses to More Fudge

  1. kae says:

    Wow. Were there Birds of Prey coming toward you at warp speed? (:>D) Thanks for the heads up. I would have done the same thing, only I wouldn’t have caught it in time.

  2. Elsie says:

    I just signed up for your feed. We are CI fans as well and subscribe to the mag, the web site, (CC as well) and have most of the books. So, I’ll be following along.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243 other followers

