Tandoori Chicken with Cilantro-Mint Chutney

ATK always makes everything look so easy, and so I wanted to try the Tandoori Chicken recipe. While it took longer than I thought to prepare (2-1/2 hours), the results were worth it. 5-star rating for each of my two sons, and a nice change of pace for me.

Tandoori Chicken without the special 900-degree oven.

I sauteed the 6 cloves of garlic and 3/4-ounce of grated ginger, then bloomed the spices in the same pan. I divided the mixture into two parts. First part was for a salt rub, in which the chicken sat for 30 minutes. Second part was mixed with yogurt and lime juice, which was used for the coating applied just before baking.  The chicken was baked for 30 minutes at 325-degrees, then broiled for 15 minutes.

The Cilantro-Mint Chutney was prepared in the food processor. The recipe uses an entire bunch of Cilantro. My supermarket only sold tiny packages of mint (I needed a whole cup), so I substituted 2 tablespoons of dried mint that I’ve had in my cabinet. Mixed with 1/4-cup minced onion, 1/3-cup plain yogurt, some cumin, salt, sugar and lime juice. Let run in food processor for 30 seconds.

Problems:

  1. When sauteing the garlic and blooming the spices, it seized to the pan. I had to add a few tablespoons of water to be able to scrape up the flavor that would have been lost. Next time I’ll use a non-stick pan.
  2. As I said, I substituted 2 tablespoons of dried mint because of my crappy supermarket.

Rating: 5 stars.
Cost: $9.30 for 4-pounds of chicken. $2.85 for chutney.
How much work? Low.
How big of a mess?  Medium.
Start time 4:45pm. Dinner time 7:15 PM.

3 Responses to Tandoori Chicken with Cilantro-Mint Chutney

  1. Kae says:

    Consider planting a samll herb garden for future. Mint grows like a weed, and I use it a lot for lamb and this recipe…..

  2. Yes, I am working on building an herb garden, but my thumbs are not very green. But still, if it grows like weed then there is some hope :)

  3. [...] 4 kids eating as well. The main course was Tandoori Chicken with Cilantro-Mint Chutney (which I had made before in May) with a side dish of Cucumber Raita. The Raita is a new recipe that Chris Kimball uses to season [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 296 other followers

