Pot Stickers with Scallion Dipping Sauce

These Pork and Cabbage Dumplings are perhaps my all-time favorite ATK recipes, and are served with Scallion Dipping Sauce. This has become my meal to celebrate my events (e.g. my birthday, fathers day, etc); today was an early Father’s Day because I will be on vacation for the “real” Father’s Day.

An early Father's Day feast.

First salt the minced cabbage in a colander for 20 minutes to remove moister, then combine remaining ingredients in a bowl and refrigerate for 30 minutes. Add 1 tablespoon of filling to center of wrapper, fold over squeezing out any air, and seal using water and pinch closed. They cook in three phases. First, cook in a 12″ skillet with 1 tablespoon of oil for 5 minutes, which brown the bottom. Second, add 1/2 cup water and cover immediately; steaming for 10 minutes.  Finally, cook uncovered for 4 minutes to dry out the excess moisture. Put on paper towel lined plate and cook the next batch.  The Scallion Dipping Sauce takes just a few minutes to mix together.

Absolute 5-star recipe. These have become my favorite recipe from Chris Kimball, even though I don’t generally eat Chinese Food (it’s the MSG that I don’t like).

Issues:

  1. Unless you have two 12″ non-stick skillets with lids, you will have to eat in batches. Usually it takes 4 batches, but I spread that over 2 days.  Actually, I do have two skillets and lids for when guests come over.
  2. I can no longer buy round gyoza wrappers from our local supermarket. Instead I need to find a local Asian market, but in the mean time, I am using square wonton wrappers.
  3. I have switched to just use regular cabbage (rather than napa cabbage), because it taste the same and is much cheaper.
  4. I don’t use Mirim (don’t really know what it is) or chili oil for the dipping sauce.

Rating: 5-stars.
Cost: $10. Between 50 and 60 dumplings.
How much work? Medium.
How big of a mess?  Medium.
Start time 4:00 PM. Last Batch at 7:00 PM.

4 Responses to Pot Stickers with Scallion Dipping Sauce

  1. lorri says:

    Love pot stickers myself, too. Mirin is a sweet rice wine. it has alcohol in it, but i think around 8 percent. low (compared to other liquors etc.. used in cooking). I usually have this on hand but if not, a good sub is sweet sherry. Or dry sherry with a pinch of sugar (I’ve only subb’d with the sweet sherry.)

    you can do without it but…without mirin and the chile paste or oil you really change the dipping sauce flavor! LOL. hey, that’s ok as long as you like the end result of the sauce.

  2. Stephen says:

    I was going to say the same thing about Mirin. Alot of speciality food stores do sell it as well.

    Which wonton wrappers do you like better ? Tastewise and ease of assembly ? I have always wanted to make the recipe. And I LOVE your blog.

  3. [...] favorite all-time recipe from Chris Kimball are these Pot Stickers, which are made with ground pork. My affinity for these potstickers coupled with my deep love of [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 282 other followers

