French Toast

It’s been a few weeks since we had a family breakfast, so I planned French Toast as this morning’s breakfast. (Note: The planning only consisted of buying a special kind of bread.) As expected, the whole family was instantly transformed into a great mood. But unexpectedly, the boys immediately ran outside after breakfast and started working in the garden. Wow, the best $1.50 I’ve spent in a long time.

A sure way to start out the weekend right.

French Toast Recipe is here. Start by toasting the bread in oven for 20 minutes. Meanwhile melt butter and whisk together all ingredients in bowl, and pour into a medium Pyrex casserole dish. Working two slices at a time, soak each side for 30 seconds. Cook in non-stick skillet for 2 to 3 minutes per side.

Results: 4-1/2 stars. The flavor was great. Definitely not too eggy, which was the problem when I was growing up.  Still, the texture was a little tough; no worse than any other French Toast.

Suggestions:

  1. I cut the recipe by 1/3, because there is so much extra. The full recipe is certainly enough for 12 slices.
  2. I increased to 1-1/2 teaspoons the cinnamon. The first time I made this they seemed a little bland.
  3. Between the second and third batches, I found it better to wipe the skillet with a paper towel, so that the bits of burnt butter don’t accumulate too much.
  4. Tongs are useless here. Use your fingers for dredging and a spatula for flipping.

Rating: 4-1/2 stars.
Cost: $1.50 for 8 slices.
How much work? Small.
How big of a mess?  Medium.
Start time 9:10 AM. Breakfast time 10:00 AM

6 Responses to French Toast

  1. Jean says:

    I always double french toast recipes and layer the cooled leftovers in wax paper (I actually just roll it up) and then nuke them for quick weekday breakfasts. Love french toast!

  2. Jean says:

    also, I just the other CI recipe,that calls for whole eggs and flour. I’ve never seen this variation.

    • I seem to remember a recipe using the whole egg too, but have just searched and came up empty. This variation is from January 2009, and I swear I remember seeing it on ATK or CC, but can’t find it there either.

      That’s a good idea about the leftovers. My two boys would eat them up.

      Mark

      • Jean says:

        I have 2 variations on it, one in the New Best Recipe and the other in the ATK Family cookbook. If you don’t have them I can send.

  3. lorri says:

    Don’t leave us hanging. ; – )

    You said you purchased a special kind of bread. What kind? I often see Brioche used for FT.

    • haha, not that special. By special I meant that I don’t usually buy white bread; the boys prefer high-quality wheat bread over Wonder-type bread.

      So the bread I used was exactly as Chris Kimball recommends: Arnold Country Classics White. It was on sale for $1.50; one loaf is enough for 16 slices.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 294 other followers

