Buffalo Wings and Creamy Blue Cheese Dressing

This summer I have not been to TGI Friday’s for happy hour even once, which has left we with a serious craving for Buffalo Wings. I’ve been making wings for a couple of years (here is my January posting), but have never made homemade blue cheese dressing; until now. Wow, using real blue cheese gives such an intense flavor. While it can be expensive, I fortunately found the Danish Blue Cheese on sale for only $4 for 4-ounces. 

First time eating with homemade blue cheese dressing. Wow, it's like night and day.

 

Chris Kimball has two very similar blue cheese dressing variations. (Recipe #1 and Recipe #2). I made the first; “Rich and Creamy Blue Cheese Dressing”; which adds 1/4 teaspoon of sugar and 1/8 teaspoon of garlic powder. The dressing only took a few minutes, just mix all the ingredients together. I made the wings exactly as the last time. The Buffalo Wings recipe is here

Ratings: Only 3-1/2 stars for the wings recipe this time, because of a lack of sauce. But the lack of sauce made the wings mild enough for my kids. The Blue Cheese dressing was 4-1/2 stars; very intense. After a good whiff, my kids wouldn’t touch it. 

Issues: 

  1. My $5 tray of wings ended up making 32 wings, so I ran a little short on the buffalo sauce. Still good, but not intense enough like the last time. The buffalo sauce is good for only 20 wings. Next time I will count the wings and make the necessary adjustments.
  2. On the other hand, I had twice the necessary Blue Cheese dressing. The kids didn’t eat any, but next time I will halve the recipe; only 1-1/4 ounces of blue cheese.
  3. While the dressing is a new recipe, I am not going to count it towards my goal of 100 new recipes. I think counting a sauce would be cheating.

Rating: 3-1/2 stars for wings, 4-1/2 stars for dressing.
Cost: $6 for 32 wings, plus $2.50 for Blue Cheese dressing.
How much work? Medium.
How big of a mess?  A Big Mess, with oil splattering everywhere.
Start time 6:00 PM. Dinner time 7:00pm

2 Responses to Buffalo Wings and Creamy Blue Cheese Dressing

  1. lorri says:

    Hmmmmm. Don’t count the sauce as a new recipe….. means you wouldn’t count a hollendaise? Or a nifty asian salad dressing on already-cooked chicken and vegetables?

    How about counting this, but make 101 just to be safe
    ; – )

    Aw heck, when I’ve had a goal, I try to surpass the goal anyway. Consider it a “victory lap” to cook a few extras.

  2. haha..except that I’ve already counted the Buffalo Wings as a new recipe once. But thanks for the support!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 286 other followers

