Classic Deviled Eggs

This was the first summer my kids have gone to summer camp, and my contribution to the end-of-the-summer-camp feast was Classic Deviled Eggs (published by CI in 2000).  I haven’t made any hard-boiled egg dish since Easter, and today’s recipe is different than my Easter Deviled Eggs (published by CI in 2006).  Unsure why Chris Kimball has two Deviled Egg Recipes, I wanted to try them both. Which one is better? The 2000 Recipe gets higher reviews for taste, but the 2006 recipe is easier and has better texture because of some new techniques; notably this one.

With the "Egg Scare" I wanted to be sure to cook these all the way through.

First, I hard-boiled the eggs using Chris Kimball’s favorite technique. I put the eggs in cold water and brought them to a boil. I let them boil for 5 minutes, then removed them from heat, covered and let them sit for 10 minutes. This method ensures that the yolks are cooked all the way through, but the yolks aren’t green (Sam I am).

Recipe is here. I peeled the eggs, sliced carefully and put yolks in a bowl. I mashed the yolks using a fork (see issues below) and added the 3 tablespoons of mayonnaise,  3/4 teaspoon of grainy mustard, 1-1/2 teaspoons of cider vinegar, 1/2 teaspoon of salt, and 1/4 teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce. I used my pastry decorator to fill the egg halves (see more issues described below).

I give this recipe 4-stars, which tasted better than the other one from April (which only got 3-stars). I like the complexity added by the Worcestershire sauce (more than the sour cream from the other recipe).   But next time I will use my ricer to process the yolks; which will save time and provide for a fluffier filling.

Issues:

  1. I followed the recipe and mashed the yolks with a fork (in lieu of using my ricer). The yolk filling’s texture was denser, not light and fluffy as it had been in April.  I though clean-up would be quicker, but the fork ended up costing me an extra 10 minutes of aggravation.
  2. The major problem caused by the fork was that my pastry tip constantly jammed. Though I tried to mash the yolks well, there were still chunks that wouldn’t fit through my pastry tip. I couldn’t get through more than 3 or 4 eggs at a time without removing and cleaning the tip.
  3. The jammed pastry tip caused ascetic flaws in the filling too, no nice even swirl.  Bottom line: use your ricer (or a sieve) it’ll save time and aggravation, plus give you a fluffier and better looking filling.

Rating: 4-star.
Cost: $1.00 for 18 halves.
How much work? Low.
How big of a mess?  Low.
Started: 7:00.  Ready:  7:30 AM.

4 Responses to Classic Deviled Eggs

  1. Kelly says:

    Thanks. I may just try this today. I don’t own a ricer (gasp!). I wonder if a food processor would work. Or would that just make a nasty paste? Hmmm…think I’ll try the sieve method.

    Looks great!
    OH, and you may want to add Cook’s Illustrated Chicken Marsala recipe to your list of things to try. It was incredible. I’ve never had better.

  2. A sieve should do the same thing as a ricer, only a little more effort to work the yolks through, and perhaps a little messier.

    I think the food processor would essentially produce the same denser texture as the fork, but still great flavor.

    But I would recommend the sieve.

    • Oh, I added the Chicken Marsala to my Autumn Recipes. It’s been so cool lately that I feel I must race to finish my barbecuing before it gets too cold and dark.

      Tonight I hope to BBQ the Turkey Breast.

      • Kelly says:

        It is a fantastic recipe. You’ll love it, I’m sure.

        Made the deviled eggs this morning and they turned out nicely using a sieve. I used an open star tip and had no problem piping them. Made a nice little breakfast, though an odd one. That’s ok. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 308 other followers

