Ice Cream Sandwiches

To an adult, they are over-the-top. But to a kid, the fact that they maybe over-the-top is exactly what makes them special.  Home-made, over-sized, cappuccino, chocolate-chip ice cream sandwiches, rolled in rainbow sprinkles. What kid wouldn’t smile at that! Each sandwich weighted 8-ounces and was a full 2-inches thick. They barely fit in my sons’ mouths.

 

The best thing since sliced bread.

 

Chris Kimball’s recipe, which is here, call for store-bought ice cream, but I wanted to make a special treat for the boys, as they get back into the swing of school. I made my most flavorful home-made ice cream; cappuccino; made with full heavy cream (no milk). I usually swirl in some dulce de leche, but this time mixed in some roughly chopped chocolate chips.

The cookie is made by mixing 1-cup flour, 1/2-cup cocoa, 1/8-teaspoon baking soda, and 1/4-teaspoon salt. Separately, mix 2 eggs, 3/4-cup sugar, 1/4-cup chocolate syrup and 1 stick of melted butter. Combine and spread thin over parchment paper in large baking sheet. Bake for 12 minutes.

The result is off-the-chart 5-stars. My son said that he would have to invent a new scale to properly rate it.

Issues:

  1. Cookie was too thick, due to size and shape of my parchment paper. Also because I don’t have an offset metal spatula it wasn’t a completely consistent thickness.
  2. My 3-1/2 inch biscuit cutter is too big. Actually, I made it from a donut-cutter gone bad, so I can’t complain. I think 2-1/2 inches would be the ideal size.
  3. The recipe only yielded 5 sandwiches, but each one weighted a massive 8-oz. By comparison a normal Ice Cream Sandwich weights just 3-1/4 ounces.
  4. While I was assembling them, the ice cream began to melt. I had to put everything back in the freezer for a half hour before finishing.
  5. Normally I swirl my Cappuccino Ice Cream with Dulce de Leche, which is very, very sweet.  Because I didn’t, the result wasn’t quite sweet enough for a kid’s palate. The Ice cream could have used a little more sugar, but they were still a home-run.
  6. So that the boys could have eaten them the same day, I should have started these by 4 PM. But because I had to go to the store to buy eggs, they had to wait an extra day to eat them.

Rating: 5-stars.
Cost: $4.50 for 5 sandwiches.
How much work? Medium.
How big of a mess?  Low/Medium.
Started: 5 PM.  Ready:  10:00 PM.

 

Matt enjoying an afternoon snack

 

5 Responses to Ice Cream Sandwiches

  1. lorri says:

    Half-a-pound ice cream sandwich? Calorie count please?

    j/k.

    Though your recipe for homemade cappuccino ice cream, some day, would be a nice bonus. ; – )

    Looks good to me, and I’m not a “sweets” person.

  2. Kelly says:

    Wow! Now *that* is an ice cream sandwich! Lovely. I think I drooled a little. :)

  3. Thanks…not to be made when you’re on a diet, though. But I am going to be playing soccer this week, so I’ll work it off.

  4. Malena says:

    Matt? Are you sure you aren’t Nick Jonas’ father? ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 324 other followers

