Hash Brown Mania and other Craziness

There was a period over several months when I ate hash browns twice a day; for breakfast and dinner. No, I am not crazy (at least not for hash browns). I was biking across the altiplano of Bolivia. It was several day’s ride between towns, and the only food available was potatoes. But not just potatoes; the world’s most bountiful variety of tubers.  With hundreds of varieties of potatoes, every color in the rainbow, every shape imaginable; I don’t think I ate the same type twice. But enough was enough, after I road down the back side of the Andes into the Chaco desert of Paraguay, I swore I would never eat hash browns again. Now, more than 10 years later I am going to break my promise to myself and make Chris Kimball’s Classic Hash Browns.

 

Wringing before cooking makes for better taste and texture.

 

Classic recipe is here, but there are other variations here. So what makes this recipe different is the technique of drying the potatoes. Place in clean cloth towel and twist until they have released their water. Here I mixed with 2 tablespoons of grated onion and 1/4 cup of cheddar cheese.

3-1/2 stars. Overall, these rate better than my Bolivian Hash Browns; though how many people have eaten purple Hash Browns?

Rating: 3-1/2 stars.
Cost: $0.50.
How much work? Low.
How big of a mess?  Low/Medium.
Started: 8:30 AM.  Ready:  9:00 AM.

5 Responses to Hash Brown Mania and other Craziness

  1. Kelly says:

    Wow! The hash browns look great but the pictures of Bolivia are incredible. You really get to go on the most amazing adventures.

    • Thanks Kelly, Looking back it was an amazing trip. In the moment, though, it was filled with hardships. I was mere feet away from being swept downstream by a flash flood, or being gored by a raging bull.

      And a definitive answer to the seldom-asked question, “Can man live on hash browns alone?”

  2. Valerie Munson-Drohobycky says:

    The link between biking in Bolivia and hash browns is incredible. This gives cooking a whole new dimension.
    Thank you for sharing these cool experiences with us.

  3. IndianWorkingMom says:

    I’m a hash-brown lover and have often eaten the purple potato, but never as hash-brown. I can’t wait to try this recipe. I agree with the previous post, the pictures and your experiences do add a new dimension to your blog.

  4. branchenbuch says:

    Wow! what an idea ! What a concept ! Beautiful .. Amazing ? I usually don?t post in Blogs but your blog forced me to, amazing work.. beautiful ?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 306 other followers

