Korean Fried Chicken (Yang-nyum Tong Dak)

A delicious fried chicken, but really more of an accident than anything, I discovered this recipe when search to find what I could do with my 10-pound bag of leg quarters?  I love breasts best of all, and wings are my second favorite. Leg quarters are one of my least favorite, but my kids do like drumsticks, though thighs can be flavorful. Also, for the first time I can use my new thermometer for frying chicken  (see photos of thermometer at bottom). The recipe comes from Chris Kikmball’s book; Best International Recipes. It fries the chicken twice, once for 5 minutes, then again for another 5 minutes.

Great Korean flavor with not too much effort.

The Korean fried chicken recipe is here.  The sauce recipe is here. [Update: January 25, 2011. Here is an updated post]. Dust with corn starch, shake in colander and set on wire rack. Mix batter in large bowl.Working in two batches, add half chicken to batter, thenfry for first time for 5 minutes. Drain on paper towels, and fry the second batch for 5 minutes. Fry the first batch for the second time for 6 minutes until it reaches the appropriate temperature (160-degrees for breasts and 175-degrees for everything else). Fry the second batch, keeping the first batch warn in the 200-degree oven. Meanwhile make the sauce, which takes about 5 minutes cooking time. Add the chicken to a large bowl, pour sauce evenly over top and stir until evenly coated.

Overall, everyone in my family rated this 5-stars. It has rich, Korean flavors, but twice frying something can never be healthy. While the recipe isn’t too much effort, it does make a big mess. Worth a try to see how your family likes it, especially if you can talk someone else into cleaning up.

Issues:

  1. Oil went does to 305-degrees, but still I had no trouble reaching the desired temperature in the right amount if time. The recipe says to maintain an oil temperature of 350 while frying; impossible. Finally, I added the chicken when the oil temperature reached 370-degrees, which kept the oil up around 325 after adding the chicken.
  2. The sauce should be poured over chicken, because it was thick enough not to stir well. I poured it in bowl, added chicken, which didn’t work nearly as well.
  3. Everybody wanted more sauce. I’m definitely going to increase it by 50% next time.
  4. Big mess. I had to wash everything as I went along, because I needed the bowls again. Plus lots of baking sheet, and frying always makes a mess.

Thermometer: not the one Chris Kimball recommends, but it was on sale locally for $12. It lacked a clip, but I had one already for my cappuccino thermometer.

A few flaws; but fine for $12

One Response to Korean Fried Chicken (Yang-nyum Tong Dak)

  1. [...] first made this recipe last November, and made it again last night because I had a few guests coming over for dinner (plus I already had [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 282 other followers

