Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

My favorite thing to do with leftover heavy cream is to make homemade ice cream; no matter how crazy is to make it in the dead of winter.  And ever since I started my vanilla project about 6 months ago, I’ve been wanted to try to make Vanilla Bean. Finally, today is my opportunity.

Delicious even if its freezing outside

I know the best way to make ice cream is to make a custard, but the ice baths and the straining strike me as too much fuss. But here is the recipe for those who have the time.  So today I’m skipping all those extra steps; I’m just adding some extra heavy cream for richness. The results are delicious, 4-stars, certainly richer than the regular, super-fluffy supermarket brands. But if you are trying to impress, then take the extra 4 hours and make the custard. The result will definitely be 5-star.

Issues:

  1. I used two extract-grade vanilla beans, but the vanilla bean flavor was too pronounced. I’d recommend just 1 extract-grade vanilla bean. Chris Kimball recommends a 4-inch section of vanilla bean; presumably premium-grade.
  2. Oh yeah, I still owe an update on my vanilla extract project. I will post soon, I need some plain yogurt for my tasting.

Rating: 4 stars.
Cost: $1.30 for one quart.
How much work? Low.
How big of a mess?  Low.
Start time 2:30 PM. Dinner time 7:00 PM.

Chris Kimball’s original vanilla ice cream recipe is here.  The descriptions of how I prepared mine today (without making a custard) are given below.

3/4 cups of 2% milk.
1-3/4 cup heavy cream.
2/3 cups sugar.
3 egg yolks.
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 vanilla bean

  1. In a glass or metal bowl, combine milk, heavy cream and egg yolks. Gradually which in sugar until it has dissolved. Chill in freezer for 30 minutes.
  2. Slit vanilla bean and scrape out caviar. Add the vanilla beans to a jar containing about a cup of ice cream mixture and shake until all bean clumps are separated. Add to the rest of the mixture, and add 1 tablespoon of vanilla extract. Whisk briefly.
  3. Pour the mixture into your ice cream machine and follow instructions according to your ice cream maker.
  4. In my case, I let it run for about 30 to 35 minutes. The noise the machine makes will change when it is ready.
  5. Makes 1 quart. Start at least 4 1/2 hours before eating.
4 Responses to Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

  1. Foodiewife says:

    I can enjoy ice cream anytime of the year! Today, I want to make lemon ice cream, since the Meyer lemon tree is busting out with lots of fruit. Nice to see that you are still blogging.

  2. Rob says:

    I love this site. What a great idea!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 306 other followers

