Rusty Brown Water

I am not complaining. But every household has a heavy-lifter; in ours, I am that person. The person who earns most of the money, pays all the bills, spends their lunch hour fighting with the insurance company,  files all the tax returns, etc. etc. Fortunately, there are happy things too; like planing all our vacations, figuring out and cooking our daily menu, and not only driving my son to soccer practice, but hanging around to see him playing and giggling with friends.

So naturally, the problem of our rapidly deteriorating water heater consumed most of my free-time this week, while life with the rest of my family went on undisturbed. I choreographed everyone’s showers, dish washing, to minimize leakage; and mopped constantly when the water heater was turned on.  After several days I decided against going the plumber route. We don’t really have the extra money right now and somebody once told me that everyone should know how to change a water heater. So I ended up replacing the hot water heater myself. Everything went smoothly with 3 hours of work.

So here’s the point of my story. The water in the water heater was disgusting; deeply brown and rusted. To put it pleasantly, it looked like Iced Tea, but my first thoughts were not so pleasant. I am told (a) that rust is harmless, and (b) the water I use daily is from the top of the tank, while most of the rust is near the bottom. But my mind could not help but recall every instance over the past few years when I inadvertently used the hot water tap in cooking. Yuck. So remember the advice you’ve all been given before, always, always cook with cold water.

I also realized a few more things about hot water heaters:

  1. That I should be draining my hot water heater annually. After seeing the brown sludge that’s lurking in my tank after 5 years of not draining, it’s another chore I’ll do annually. And worth every second.
  2. I had never heard of an Anode Rod before, but learned that it may have sped the demise of my 50-gallon water heater. The purpose of this rod is to degrade so that your hot water heater doesn’t.
  3. The funny “T” in the gas line that I just noticed has an important purpose. It’s a Drip Tube that will prevent condensation from ruining the hot water heater’s control valve. Wow, they think of everything.

So as much as I’d rather my sole responsibilities to be in the kitchen, a father’s duties must be much greater. Still, I am hoping to cook something extraordinary in the very near future.

3 Responses to Rusty Brown Water

  1. lorri says:

    interesting post. when i saw the title “rusty brown water” i figured it was a soup recipe-gone-bad. Ha!

  2. Foodiewife says:

    I am sending this post to my husband. Our water heater went out about three weeks ago. For two days, I heated enough water in the microwave to wash my hair and cleanse myself. It wasn’t fun. I finally went to my sports center to shower before work. We have a home warranty that replaced our water heater for $60 (a $400.00) value. BUT, California code required a permit and retrofitting. We paid over $400.00 for the plumber to do it…yikes! Good for you for doing that job. Great advice, too.

    • haha. I never would have though to heat it in the microwave. You know what they say about necessity.

      You got a decent price on the Plumber. I live in an area where tradesmen always overcharge, as the towns around me are extremely upscale. I was looking closer to $1000 labor, but the job itself is only like 1-/2 hours for a plumber.

      Glad we’re both back in hot water!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 319 other followers

