Dinner at Cafe Tribeca

With the extended French holiday, the dinning options were fairly limited. We at at Cafe Tribeca on Rue Cler in the 7th arrondissement; about half way between the Eiffel Tower and Hotel des Invalides. From past trips I know that classic French recipes are difficult to find. There was no sign of Boeuf Bourguignon or Daube Provencal. Instead, modern Parisians eat delicious and lighter fare.  Both my mother and father ate Salmon served over a bed of green beans. The salmon was seared in a pan and served with minced onion, parsley, garlic and lemon.

Salmon served over a bed of green beans

Admittedly, I was also drawn to the salmon plate, but there was no way I was going to order the same meal as both my parents. No way! So instead I ordered the most traditional French dish I could see, rib-eye steak served with pan sauce and mashed potatoes. It was good, perhaps 4-stars, but was obviously not the type of food I was hoping to eat while here. My steak took perhaps 30 minutes to prepare; not 6 hours.

Rib-eye steak with creamy pan sauce.

Overall, my first few days have been busy with caring for my parents. I’ve driven 500-kilometers to the coast of Normandy, and am now settling down to the new routine here on a single street in Paris. The food is delicious, though not classic French cuisine, but even the food available in the supermarkets is so much better. And the wine; 6-euros for a very nice bottle of Borduex or Burgundy. Who could ask for anything more? Tomorrow I will try to post some pictures of my supermarket finds.

One Response to Dinner at Cafe Tribeca

  1. lorri says:

    both the salmon and the beef look fab!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 275 other followers

