Back from the Bainbridge Island

It’s happened again. Both my parents were in the hospital for the second time this year. This time they shared a hospital room. I flew across the country to see them (to Bainbridge Island, Washington). Twice I was able to take them out to a nearby coffee house that had spectacular coffee and a panoramic view of Liberty Bay. Both my parents appear to be improving, and my mother was released before I returned home from my visit.

Having a coffee at Poulsbohemien Coffee House in Poulsbo, WA

While in Washington, I worked day and night to make accommodations to their house. They can now both live on the first floor (in case that contingency becomes necessary).  Unfortunately, my mother is stubborn, and she seems more interested in bringing her 2-year-old dog home from the kennel than she does in creating a healthy environment in which her husband of 50-years can complete his recovery. No amount of logic will change her mind. I have clearly explained the consequences of missing their medicines, the impact of eating expired food, and having someone with respiratory issues live in a filthy environment. But in the end, I guess it is their decision to make. They are free to live as they choose, even when those decisions will shorten their lives. I only hope that they will be happier.

3 Responses to Back from the Bainbridge Island

  1. lorri says:

    I remember a story my cousin told me: several years ago he arranged for his mother (my Aunt) the daily meals on wheels delivery. She refused to accept it, until he told her that “some people” owed him a chunk of money, and they couldn’t pay it back, and so this was their way of paying him back. Feeding his mother. She was stubborn but that story allowed her to accept the gift, as she figured it was helping her son collect on what was due him.

    And yes, he let the MOW people in on the story so they maintained that. Though knowing my Aunt, she never brought it up or discussed their “financial situation” with the people – LOL.

  2. lorri says:

    Heya – posting this separately if you want to moderate/move this since it’s completely off topic: I found a book a few weeks ago that might be helpful to you. Titled: A Bitter-Sweet Season Caring for Our Aging Parents – and Ourselves. By Jane Gross.

    I am just 1/3 of the way thru the book. It has very good reviews on Amazon and with two aging parents (one is 90 and the other a few years behind) i am hoping to get insight as to the kinds of questions / things to do with regard to health care decisions. And prehaps give me ways to manage my own parents and help them navigate the path when the parent-child role reverses. FYI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 283 other followers

