Goodbye 2011

While the sluggish economy continues to hurt economically, for me, 2011 was a great year nonetheless. It’s as if, having navigated the rough and dangerous white waters over the past few years, the changes have finally settled into becoming the new routine. Things are just as tense and uncertain, but I have become more comfortable navigating these chaotic times. More often than not, I could sleep the whole night through. I hope everyone’s 2011 was also an improvement over the past few years.

Parisian Fromagerie on Rue Cler (April 2011)

Unfortunately, I missed my 2011 goal of making and publishing 100 recipes; I only completed 80. Of this year’s recipes; my top ten recipes that I made this year are the following.

  1. Julia Child’s Boeuf Bourguignon
  2. Barbecued Chicken Kebabs
  3. American Sandwich Bread
  4. Shu Mai
  5. Grilled Chicken Teriyaki
  6. Korean Fried Chicken
  7. Beef Stroganoff
  8. Chicken Breasts Ballotine
  9. Indoor Pulled Pork
  10. Valentine’s Day Pretzels

For this blog, 2011 brought subtle change from my first year. In 2010, I stressed new recipes, expanding my culinary horizons and those of my family. In 2011, I tried and refined recipes (both new and old), trying to understand; and ultimately perfect; the required techniques. I made some recipes 3 or 4 days in a row. My greatest progress this year was in the baking of bread. The many variables (like room temperature, humidity, age and type of the yeast) no longer de-rail my loaves; every loaf this year has been at least 4-stars.

I hope we all have learned from the ebbs and flows that have accompanied 2011, and that the perspective gained will ultimately lead to more fulfilling lives; a sure recipe from an even happier 2012.

One Response to Goodbye 2011

  1. lorri says:

    Wishing you prosperity in 2012 ~

    Thanks for allowing me/the readers along for the ride

    ; – )

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 324 other followers

