Mushroom and Leek Galette with Gorgonzola

There was a point while making this recipe that I was 100% sure that I had failed; that my $20 had been wasted. I re-check the recipe and was sure I had faithfully followed all the instructions. But the dough more closely resembled mildly damp flour than a “shaggy mass”; there was absolutely no cohesion whatsoever. Just when I was ready to add more water and was explaining my failure to my son, he read to me the most important part of the recipe. It was written in bold (how could I miss it?) “Don’t doubt the dough,” said my son. These turned out to be the most important 4 words of the recipe.

Nice weekend meal of French Galette

In the end, the rolling/folding process worked the butter into layers which held the dough together. I was afraid the gorgonzola would be too strong for my boys, so I made their half using mozzarella. But the gorgonzola offered flavor without overpowering the dish. I should have used gorgonzola all the way around. The Galette turned out fantastic; deep flavors, but a light meal. The dough was fantastic. I’ll definitely remember this recipe for my vegetarian friends. Expensive because of the mushrooms and crème fraîche. 4-1/2 stars.

Comments:

  1. “Don’t doubt the dough,” were the words of the day. It won’t be until well into the rolling/folding (step 6) that you will actually have confidence in the dough. The photo at the bottom of this post is from step 4, but it only partially conveys the dryness of the dough; dry like the Sahara.
  2. Buying 1-1/4 pounds of Shiitaki mushrooms is a difficult thing to do in my town. My local supermarket sells 3-1/2-oz pre-packaged shiitakes for $4; which multiples out to $24 in mushrooms alone. Instead, I drove 10 miles away and was able to cherry-pick my shiitakes for just $10.
  3. I wasn’t completely sure how to slice the leeks, so I sliced them in 1/2″ rounds. After they were softened, I separated the rings using my fingers while mixing with the mushrooms. Next time I will slice the leek in half lengthwise and then cut the 1/2″ slices.

Rating: 4-1/2 star.
Cost: $22.
How much work? Medium.
How big of a mess?  Medium.
Started: 2:00 pm. Dinner Time:  6:00.

Chris Kimball’s original recipe is here.  The descriptions of how I prepared it today are given below:

Dough:
1-1/4 cups all-purpose flour (6-1/4 oz)
1/2 cup whole-wheat flour (2-3/4 oz)
1 tablespoon sugar
3/4 teaspoon table salt
10 tablespoons unsalted butter
7 tablespoons ice water (3-1/2 oz)
1 teaspoon white vinegar

Filling:
1-1/4 pounds shiitake mushrooms
1 tablespoon plus 2 teaspoons olive oil
1 pound leeks, white and light green part only
1 teaspoon minced fresh thyme
2 tablespoons crème fraîche
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
Salt and pepper
3-oz Gorgonzola cheese
1 large egg
Sprinkling of Kosher salt
2 tablespoons minced fresh parsley

  1. Add both types of flour, sugar, and table salt to the bowl of a food processor. Give 3 short pulses.
  2. Cut your well-chilled butter into 1/2″ pieces and add to food processor. Given 10 one-second pulses, which should leave you with pea-sized butter. Empty mixture into a medium bowl.
  3. Evenly drizzle water and vinegar over flour/butter. Use a rubber spatula and folding motions to combine. Chris Kimball says that you will get a “shaggy mass with some dry flour remaining”, but it can better be described as an incoherent bowl of slightly damp flour. Be careful not to overwork the dough or the final crust will be tough.
  4. Lay a large (15″ x 12″) piece of plastic wrap on the counter and dump the mixture in the center. Lightly press together to form a 4″ square. Tightly wrap and refrigerate for 45 minutes.
  5. Very lightly flour a work surface and roll your dough out into a 11″ x 8″ rectangle. Use a bench scraper to fold up in three parts just like a business letter; leaving an 8″ x 4″ rectangle.
  6. Rotate dough 90-degrees, and again roll your dough out into a 11″ x 8″ rectangle. Use a bench scraper to fold up in three parts just like a business letter; leaving an 8″ x 4″ rectangle.
  7. Again rotate your dough 90-degrees. For the third and final time, roll your dough out into a 11″ x 8″ rectangle. Use a bench scraper to fold up in three parts just like a business letter; leaving an 8″ x 4″ rectangle. Fold your dough in half to for a 4″ x4″ square and press down on the top to fuse the layers together. Refrigerator for 45 minutes, but this can also be done 2 days ahead of time.
  8. To prepare the filling, remove the stems and slice the mushrooms thin.  Place in a medium bowl, cover tightly with plastic wrap and microwave on high for 4 or 5 minutes. Drain away any juices in a colander and return to the bowl.
  9. Allow dough to sit at room temperature for 15 to 20 minutes.
  10. Remove the dark-green part of the leeks and reserve for another use (or discard). Slice the white and light-green part of the leeks into 1/2″ rounds and wash thoroughly to remove any dirt. Also, mince your thyme.
  11. Place a 12″ skillet over medium burner. Add 1 tablespoon olive oil and pre-heat until the begins to shimmer. Cook leeks and thyme covered for 6 or 7 minutes; they should just be beginning to brown. Add to bowl with mushrooms. Add crème fraîche, Dijon mustard and salt and pepper according to taste. Stir together until combined.
  12. Set an oven rack to low-middle on which you can put a pizza stone (if you have one). Pre-heat oven to 400-degrees.
  13. Heavily flour your work surface and roll dough into a 14″ circle. Use a paring knife to trim away any rough edges and to improve your circle.
  14. Use a drinking straw (or paring knife) and place a 1/4″ hole in the center of the dough. Then make four more evenly-spaced 1/4″ holes half way between center and edge. You should have a total of 5 holes.
  15. Move your dough to a parchment-lined baking sheet and use a pastry brush and paint with 1 teaspoon olive oil.
  16. Crumble your gorgonzola. Spread half the vegetable mixture over the dough, leaving a 2″-wide border all around the edge. Spread half the gorgonzola. Spread the remaining vegetable mixture, and then the remaining gorgonzola. Evenly sprinkle 1 teaspoon olive oil over filling.
  17. In one spot along the edge, fold the 2-inches edge up and over the filling. Then make another fold every 3″ so that the folds slightly overlap and form pleats. Pinch the dough at the pleats without pressing the dough down into the filling.
  18. Lightly beat an egg in small bowl and use a pastry brush to coat the exposed dough. Lightly sprinkle with kosher salt.
  19. Reduce oven to 375-degrees, place the baking sheet directly on the baking stone, and bake for about 40 minutes; the filling should be beginning to brown and the crust is not overdone. Allow to cool for 10 minutes. Meanwhile finely chop your parsley and sprinkle evenly. Cut and serve in pizza-like wedges.

After 45-minutes in the refrigerator, dough still lacks cohesion.

5 Responses to Mushroom and Leek Galette with Gorgonzola

  1. Debby says:

    This looks fantastic! I’m definitely going to try this one out, and I won’t doubt the dough. As you know, I’m a huge fan of ATK, Cook’s Illustrated and Cook’s Country. I’m having a vegetarian over for dinner, so you gave me a great idea.

  2. Julie says:

    This recipe led me to your blog, and I’m excited to have found it! I love ATK, CI, etc, and I find that I’m much more likely to make their recipes if another total amateur has made them first and given a report. The pictures are really a requirement for me, so I’m really glad you’ve included those too. I will try this one soon, and probably find plenty more here to bookmark! Thanks!

  3. fashuninja says:

    Hello! I am in the throws of making this recipe from my ATK Best Of and I googled it because I am not sure what the point of the stone is. I bought it for this recipe thinking that I would be baking the tart directly on it. Does just having the stone on the oven evenly distribute the heat? Do I out the pan on top of the stone? I’ve never cooked with a pizza stone before and am completely flummoxed right now. Thanks anybody for any help!

    • Hi,

      I hope I’m not too late. Yes, you should put the tart on a parchment-lined sheet pan directly on top of the baking stone.

      Yes, generally, the baking stone will help ensure and even heat. In this specific case, you pre-heat the baking stone to 400-degrees to ensure a crispy bottom crust. I don’t have one so made do without it. How did yours come out?

      Mark

      • fashuninja says:

        I made it last night and we ate it today at my dinner party and it was a HUGE success! I ended sliding the galette on top of parchment paper directly on to the stone, a dangerous business as it was very hot. Then I pulled out the tart via the paper and slid it onto another pan to cool and left the stone in the oven. You way would have been much simpler and I will try it that way next time. I love the idea of your blog! I’m going to follow you; I have a lot of catching up to do, I imagine. Thank you so much for getting back to me.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 319 other followers

