Quick Tip: Best Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwiches

Peanut butter sandwiches are uniquely American. And while the rest of the world turns their noses up on this lunchbox stable, we Americans never tire of them. Personally, I have enjoyed every one of the thousands I’ve eaten over my lifetime. But my 13-year-old son and I recently discovered a Quick Tip to make every sandwich better;  at the price of only 5 seconds of extra effort. The problem: by lunchtime the jelly has soaked through the bread and made one slice soggy. The solution: Spread the peanut butter on both slices of bread. The peanut butter acts as a barrier to prevent the jelly from coming in contact with bread, and the bread will stay in great condition for up to 8 hours.

Spread peanut butter on both slices of bread

But if you leave the sandwich too long (over 8 hours) eventually even the oils from the peanut butter degrade the texture of the bread. Fortunately, that’s plenty of time for an average lunch. I do remember eating PBJs for dinner when I was a kid, but I won’t let my own children do the same.

6 Responses to Quick Tip: Best Peanut Butter and Jelly Sandwiches

  1. lorri says:

    Hey – an obvious tip (so simple!) but one that people probably don’t think of… because it is so simple. Good tip!

    Re; what the kids eat for dinner…hmmmm… i do recall my parents letting me take two navel oranges to school for lunch, (gradeschool) as that was all i wanted. Not every day – just when orange season was in swing. She figured i had breakfast and dinner, so – why not?

    of course nowadays, some seeing a gradeschool kid do that might think she had body weight issues – yikes. Nope – not me! Just loved oranges.

    I think the same kinda thing can follow for dinner too… on occasion. some nights, let’s just have peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. ; – )

    • Hi Lorri,

      haha…yes, so obvious but I went 40-odd years eating soggy bread. I’m not sure what that says about me :)

      For me peanut butter sandwiches for dinner played a much more prominent roll than just an occasional thing. There came a point, and I forget if it was 7th or 8th grade when I stopped eating my mothers cooking. And it was PB&Js that filled the years between when I realized that her cooking was terrible and the time I learned to truly fend for myself in the kitchen. So you can imagine how sad I became when “she” went through here “natural peanut butter” phase.

      Mark

  2. Katie C. says:

    At my previous job, my office mate was a man that raised three sons with a wife that was an “adventurous” cook. Their standing rule was that the kids had to eat what was put on the dinner table or they could make themselves a pbj. I think it’s a great system … but I don’t have kids ;-)

  3. Hi Katie, I guess I am a pushover. lol. I tell them they have to try one bite of everything I cook, and if they don’t like it I will make them pasta. They eat 90%, so that’s pretty good.

    Mark

    • Katie C. says:

      Sounds fine to me. It amuses me that we people that have no kids think we “know all the answers” but I can’t believe some of the shannanigans that some of my co-workers go to for their kids likes/dislikes. When did this become expected or so wide spread? The fast food generation where everything is your way? lol.

      btw, my guy and I also bring our lunches literally 9 times out of 10. I like my own cooking and I always say: you choose where you spend your money! I haven’t tried making lunch bread…yet.

  4. Michelle in Madison says:

    Hi – just found you – like your blog! Another tip – after spreading the peanut butter on both halves, with jam in the middle – keep going! And make a half-dozen for the freezer. Pop them in the lunch bag in the morning, and they’ll thaw by lunch. Influenced by six sigma – can’t help it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 304 other followers

