Turkey Caesar Salad Wraps

I have a problem every year in the days following Thanksgiving. I have tons of leftovers, but my residual full-ness from the Thanksgiving feast lasts longer that I feel comfortable keeping the leftovers in my refrigerator (Experts say to keep leftover turkey for 2 days). So I made a Caesar Salad Wrap and added some diced turkey to use up the last of the leftovers. The combination was perfect and gave a little variety to the turkey filled Thanksgiving weekend.  I know this post is 1 week too late for this year (but I’m a little bit behind with posting my recipes, so maybe keep this in mind for next year).

Light dinner on a full stomach

Light dinner on a full stomach

Comments:

  1. I made the full amount of Caesar salad dressing, but only made enough salad today to make 3 wraps. I used the rest of the dressing the following day to make a serve a small salad along with dinner.

Wraps:
2 ounces finely grated Parmesan cheese (about 1 cup)
2-1/2 romaine hearts
6 burrito-sized tortillas
leftover turkey

  1. Make salad dressing according to the recipe below.
  2. Rip the romaine into 3/4″ pieces; then rinse and dry in a salad spinner. Grate up to 1 cup of Parmesan cheese (I grated 1/2-cup because only ate half the dressing today).
  3. Dice leftover turkey into 1/2″-cubes.
  4. Add romaine lettuce to a large bowl and add the desired amount of dressing. Toss until the lettuce is evenly coating. Add croutons, grated cheese and diced turkey, then mix gently.
  5. Add salad and evenly distribute croutons and turkey filling and wrap tightly.

Caesar Salad Dressing:
1 large clove garlic
3 tablespoons Lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
6 anchovy fillets
2 large egg yolks
5 tablespoons canola oil
5 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil
1/2 teaspoon pepper

  1. Peel garlic cloves. Press directly into a small bowl, and add lemon juice and allow to stand for 10 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, minced the anchovies and use a fork to mash to form a paste.
  3. Add Worcestershire sauce, minced anchovies, and 2 egg yolks into garlic/lemon juice mixture. Whisk until it is combined.
  4. While whisking constantly, slowly pour the canola oil and olive oil into the bowl. Whisk until the dressing has become fully emulsified. Finally, whisk in 1/2 teaspoon pepper.
4 Responses to Turkey Caesar Salad Wraps

  1. Katie C. says:

    This is a nifty idea! I’m glad that you posted it because I went out of town for Thanksgiving so we are going to have our turkey for Christmas. Also, my guy likes the chicken Caesar sub that you can buy at Wegman’s so this is a win-win situation. Of course, we will be making soup too. I also sometimes make turkey pot pie with some of the shredded bits which I freeze so as to avoid turkey melt down.

  2. Katie C. says:

    Sure they do. Just freeze some of it to resurrect later. How about open faced hot turkey sandwiches?

    Have you made any of the Cook’s Country recipes? I got the cookbook from the library. The cider braised pork chops are SOOO good, but then I don’t think I’ve ever met a pork chop that I didn’t like. Pork chops are on my top favorites list.

  3. Katie C. says:

    We made our turkey for Christmas. 12 3/4 pounds is a lot of turkey for two people! I’ve put a bunch in the freezer for future uses like turkey a la king or turkey pot pie. I also boiled the carcus for soup – again some is in the freezer (I love those big yogurt containers) for future lunches. Today I had turkey soup and your turkey caesar salad wrap for lunch. I used a different dressing recipe without the eggs. I have to say that both my guy and I really liked it. I think I might have gone a little heavy on the garlic but none of my co-workers have passed out yet…oops. Another short cut to save on partial cans of anchovies is that anchovy paste comes in a tube just like tomato paste.

    On another note, if you like to read about cooking, i just finished “The Kitchen Counter Cooking School”. It was a great read about a chef that teaches a handful of volunteers how to cook. It has some great information about the food that people eat these days and what’s in it. That in itself can be a little scary.

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 304 other followers

