Blackout Shrimp Tempura

No, “blackout” isn’t part of the recipe, but that I made it during our 4 day blackout (after a heavy 18-20″ snowfall).  My limitation: I had gas to run the stovetop, but not electricity to run the oven.

Given my deep love for shrimp in all forms, I was surprised that this was my first time eating Shrimp Tempura; a lightly battered shrimp, briefly fried, and served with a soy-scallion sauce.  The tiny shrimp fried to perfection in about 1 minute. To my surprise, I could only give these shrimp 4-stars.  The frying masks the shrimp’s natural tenderness and subtle flavors.  Overall, a great recipe if you’re want to fry the shrimp, but not in the same league as the Shrimp Scampi from a few days ago.

Problem

  1. I only had tiny 31-40 count shrimp, not the massive 8-10 count shrimp the recipe calls for. But, these were what was on sale, and the blackout meant “use ’em or loss ’em”.
  2. The technique of making two 1/4″ slits on the underside of each shrimp didn’t straighten out this tiny shrimp.  Oh well.
  3. I only had 1 pound of thawed shrimp (left over from Shrimp Scampi), not the 1-1/2 pounds the recipe calls for. That’s why there were only 2 servings.
  4. Since I had no power to run the oven, I couldn’t keep them hot in a 200 degree oven while cooking the remaining batches.

Rating: 4-star.
Cost: $6 for 2 servings. (1-lb shrimp)
How much work? Low.
How big of a mess?  Low/Medium.
Start time 3:00 PM. Dinner time 3:35 PM. (I had to cook/clean during daylight)

Lightly battered fried shrimp makes for a definite upgrade from Red Lobster, but not as delicious as shrimp scampi.

4 Responses to Blackout Shrimp Tempura

  1. jenna says:

    the ATK recipe calls for “colossal” shrimp — 12 per pound. Imo, it’s unreasonable to give a poor rating to a recipe when your changes have increased the batter:shrimp and surface area:oil ratios by, what?, maybe 15-fold?
    Of course it’s hard to taste the fish, with so much batter and the increase in oil.

  2. Anonymous says:

    WHERE IS THE RECIPE????????

Leave a Reply

