Mashed Potato Casserole

A significant upgrade from the regular run-of-the-mill mashed potatoes. In addition to milk, I included sour cream and a little dijon. Then topped with grated cheddar cheese and homemade bread crumbs.

Cook’s Illustrated also has a make-ahead variation (a real time saver) that I wanted to try from my son’s 11th birthday party this weekend. Unfortunately,  the heavy rain in the forecast forced me to change menus (to Mexican), so I cooked and ate this casserole all in the same evening.

Problems:

  1. I realize that these are not supposed to be mashed potatoes, but the texture of the potatoes was a little too soft for my liking (too much milk). Next time I’ll add the milk little by little, which is the proper way to make mashed potatoes anyhow.
  2. I halved the recipe, since this wasn’t for any special occasion and I didn’t need 8 to 10 servings of mashed potatoes.

Rating: 3 1/2-star.
Cost: $2.50 (four to five servings as a side dish)
How much work? Medium. (mostly due to homemade bread crumbs).
How big of a mess?  Medium.
Start time 5:00 PM. Dinner time 6:45 PM.

Mashed Potatoes with sour cream and topped with grated cheddar cheese and homemade bread crumbs.

Leave a Reply

