Rustic Dinner Rolls

I’ve been holding off making bread until I got my digit scale. Having arrived yesterday, I wasted no time in seeing if weighing the ingredients in baked item was as important as they say. Answer: Yes, the texture was perfect when I weighted the ingredients; no need to fine tune the texture by adding flour or water at the end.

But…When I started the rustic dinner rolls at 3pm, I incorrectly thought they’d be ready for a 7pm dinner. Instead they were only ready for a 8:30pm pre-bedtime snack (the boys begin their bedtime ritual at 9pm).

Hearty chew and beautiful crust, but must have patience.

I need to start 5 hours before dinner. Mixing water, honey and yeast, then add bread flour and a little whole wheat flour. Kneed in standing mixer for 3 minutes.  Let rest for 30 minutes, then kneed in standing mixer for 6 more minutes. Let rise for 2 hours, folding dough over on itself twice. Then divide into two, stretch into 16″ loaves, and divide each into 8 equal pieces. Put 8 rolls in each cake pre-greased pan, let rise again, spray tops with water and bake in a very hot oven (500 degrees) for 10 minutes. Then remove from cake pans, separate into individual rolls and finish backing at 400 degrees for about 15 more minutes.

Issues:

  1. I incorrectly used “active yeast” instead of the required “instant or rapid-rise yeast”.  Not realizing the difference, I didn’t properly “proof” the yeast before adding the flour, which would have only added 10 minutes. But it meant that the dough rose about 33% less during the 3-1/2 hours of rising, but had a growth spurt right before I put it into the oven. The overall rolls were delicious, but I’m not sure how this affected the flavor.
  2. I failed to identify that I simultaneously needed my oven at 500-degrees and 200-degrees. The result, I had to delay baking the rolls for about an 45-minutes while I finished cooking the main course (and then waited to pre-heat the oven to 500-degrees).
  3. I didn’t wait the full hour for the rolls to cool, breaking down after just 20 minutes of waiting. (at which time they were plenty cool).

Rating: 5-star.
Cost: $1 for 16 rolls.
How much work? Low/Medium.
How big of a mess?  Low/Medium.
Started: 3pm Ready:  8:30.

3 Responses to Rustic Dinner Rolls

  1. seashells4u says:

    they look realllly tasty to me! Is that your picture really, or from a magazine? ; – ) Good job!

  2. […] Dinner Rolls: Take 2 Today I tried to re-make the Rustic Dinner Rolls from last week, trying to correct my failure to adjust for using active dry yeast.  I was able to […]

Leave a Reply

