Sangria According to Chris Kimball

Sangria has evolved into one of my specialties. I have refined my recipe over the years into one of the most delicious nectar I’ve tasted anywhere in my travels. Nowadays, I never have a dinner party without making a double batch. Even friends who don’t like alcohol love my Sangria (which makes for even more entertaining parties).

Nectar of the Gods, or the Devil's nectar?

So it was with a bit of skepticism that I undertook a recipe self-confidently called Best Sangria, using oranges and lemons as the only fruit. One orange and the only lemon are added as slices, while the second orange is juiced. The citric-acid is then used to dissolve the sugar (ingenious idea). Then add the wine and just 1/4 cup of triple sec. Finally, let it chill for between 2 and 8 hours. It’s really that simple; just five ingredients.

This is a simple interpretation of Sangria, very close to it’s original Spanish roots. Overall: 3-1/2 stars.

Quibbles:

  1. This sangria has too many slices cluttering up the pitcher; which is both good and bad. Assuming you have a big-enough pitcher, you only need to be careful to drink it all in one day.  On the first day, the rinds give a nice complexity, but by the second day the rind-flavor becomes too over powering and bitter.  This is only an issue because I usually make a double-batch, expressly because I usually want “leftovers.”
  2. Slicing such a large portion of the citrus inevitable leads to more seeds floating about. Nobody like seeds floating in their sangria.
  3. The citrus simplicity of this recipe is one interpretation of sangria, but I miss the apples.
  4. With just wine and 1/4 cup of Triple Sec, this recipe is quite tame.

Rating: 3-1/2 star.
Cost: $7.
How much work? Low.
How big of a mess?  Low.
Started: 4:00 pm. Cocktail Hour:  7:00.

Tomorrow I will write about my own version of Sangria.

One Response to Sangria According to Chris Kimball

  1. […] As I promised yesterday, here is my own recipe for sangria, and how it compares to yesterday’s sangria by ChrisKimball.The differences […]

Leave a Reply

