My Sangria

As I promised yesterday, here is my own recipe for sangria, and how it compares to yesterday’s sangria by Chris Kimball.The differences are:

  1. My sangria uses only 1-1/2 oranges instead of two; and only half an orange is sliced. But my sangria adds more orange flavor in the form of an additional 1-1/2 tablespoons of triple sec. Overall, about the same amount of orange flavor.
  2. My sangria adds a half an apple.
  3. My sangria adds an extra 3 tablespoons of sugar. Ideally I substitute 2 tablespoons of sugar for an equal amount of juice from homemade maraschino cherries. Because the store bought cherries contains alum, I wouldn’t use it.
  4. My sangria contains two-thirds fewer slices (and rinds). This reduces the bitterness and also lets my sangria keep overnight. Too many citrus rinds will turn great sangria bitter if left for more than 8 hours.
  5. I add 1/3 cup ginger ale. Seltzer is traditional, but Chris Kimball skips it altogether.
  6. Finally, I add two tablespoons of brandy. This adds complexity (Chris Kimball obtains it by adding more rinds). But I prefer the extra “kick” as well as the stability of the flavors.
  7. I have already incorporated the technique I learned yesterday of dissolving the sugar in citrus. This saves me the mess of heating the sugar in 2 tablespoons of water.

Almost nector-like, my sangria has more flavors than just citrus.

Rating: 4-1/2 star.
Cost: $7.50
How much work? Low.
How big of a mess?  Low.
Started: 2:00 pm. Cocktail Hour:  5:30.

Recipe:

1-1/2 juice oranges
1 lemon
1/2 apple, cubed.
1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon sugar
2 tablespoons homemade maraschino cherry juice (or more sugar)
1/3 cup Triple Sec
2 tablespoons brandy
1 bottle inexpensive, Spanish red wine (750 milliliters)
1/3 cup ginger ale

  1. Slice half an orange, and a quarter of the lemon. Juice remaining citrus into separate dish and remove seeds.
  2. Put all citrus into a liter pitcher, add sugar and stir until dissolved.
  3. Add all remaining ingredients (except ginger ale) and chill at least 2 hours.
  4. Add ginger ale just before serving.

Recipe [revised 4/26/2012], which has evolved into a double batch:

2 large juicy oranges (or 3 smaller ones) (2/3 cup)
2 lemon (1/3 cup)
1 apple, cubed.
7/8 cup granulated sugar
2/3 cup Triple Sec
1/3 cup brandy
2 bottles inexpensive, Spanish red wine (total of 1.5 liters)
2/3 cup ginger ale (just before serving)

  1. Refrigerate your wine well before making.
  2. Thinly slice half an orange, and a half a lemon. Juice remaining citrus into separate dish and remove seeds.
  3. Put all citrus into a liter pitcher, add sugar and stir. Allow to sit for 15 minutes; stirring occasionally. If after 15 minutes it still hasn’t dissolved keep stirring.
  4. Core and dice the apple. If you plan to keep the sangria overnight, remove about 40-to-50% of apple peel to avoid bitterness the next day.
  5. Add the triple sec, brandy and 1.5L of red wine (not ginger ale) and chill at least 2 hours.
  6. Add ginger ale just before serving. Serve with 1 to 2 ice cubes per glass.

Here are the last of last summer’s homemade maraschino cherries.

3 Responses to My Sangria

  1. 3Martini says:

    This is pretty much the same recipe I use….

  2. […] Our favorite things to make with the cherry juice are: Shirley Temples (using Cherry juice in lieu of Grenadine), Malibu Bay Breeze, and added to Sangria in lieu of 1/4 cup of sugar. […]

  3. Hi there I am so delighted I found your web site, I really found you by mistake, while I was looking on Yahoo for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a fantastic post and a all
    round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

Leave a Reply

