Fluffy Omelet

My family has raw-egg-phobia, so it wasn’t until this diner-style omelet recipe that I could coax them into eating an omelet.

Nothing runny in this omelet. My family's raw-egg-phobia has been cured.

Of course air is the key to make a fluffy omelet. The eggs are whipped in a standing mixer to incorporate lots of air. Heavy cream is whipped to soft peaks separately (instead of milk) which gives it even more lift. The omelet is browned on the stovetop for 3 minutes, but finished in the oven where is has time to cook all the way through (no runny center).  My favorite filling is their sausage and peppers filling, but I usually add 5 or 6 mushrooms as well. Pre-cooking the filling cooks most of the moisture off, keeping the center dry.

Problems:

  1. The whipped cream should be mixed using a separate hand mixer (not your standing mixer), because there is so little heavy cream that the standing mixer won’t do the job.
  2. It’s so easy to forget that the skillet handle is 400-degrees. This morning was one of the few times I remembered; usually I burn myself.

Rating: 4-1/2 star.
Cost: $4.50
How much work? Low.
How big of a mess?  Low/Medium.
Started: 7:45 pm. Breakfast:  8:25.

5 Responses to Fluffy Omelet

  1. lorri says:

    re: the burnt-hand syndrome (ouch!) awhile ago I purchased a hot pad-style thing that is sewn / meant to slide onto the handle. When I am cooking a dish that will go into the oven, I take out that hot pad and put it on the countertop, next to the stove. BEFORE putting the pan in there.

    If I rely on ‘remembering’ to open the drawer and grab the pot holder to use, after the timer goes off to check the food…. I too sometimes forget the handle is hot. YIKES.

  2. lorri says:

    PS: they’re inexpensive too. I’ve seen them at Sur La Table for perhaps $3.49 (which is cheap, in comparison to a trip to the ER – LOL) but I’ve also seen them at other cooking stores, anywhere from $1.49 to $2.99. And occasionally on sale. Def. worth the investment whatever you end up paying!

  3. Kae says:

    Really enjoying your blog.

    Sarah Moulton said to keep a kitchen towel handy, and when you take the pan out of the oven, use the towel and leave it hanging, so everyone will know the handle is hot. I have one of the handle holders lorrie is talking about, and I got mine at Sur La Table.

  4. Jean says:

    I too forget, so now I take off the oven mitt and slip it onto the handle, so the handle is the hand.

Leave a Reply

