Oven-Fried Chicken Breasts

There was a time when I would make Oven-Fried Chicken Breasts twice a week. I have a 15-year-old recipe that my family now refers to as “Mark’s Chicken”.  So, I was quite interested to see how Chris Kimball would prepare one of my favorite recipes.

Chris Kimball uses Melba toast run through a food processor to make a course crumb. This makes for a much crunchier skin than most oven fried chicken. The spices are mixed together in the egg wash (much better than my approach of seasoning the dry coating mixture).  Then the egg-soaked chicken is dipped into the crushed Melba toast, and baked at 450-degrees for 40 minutes.

Healthier chicken without the mess of frying.

Overall:  3-1/2 stars. I felt that the inclusion of the spices in an egg wash was a great improvement in technique, but next time I’ll add more spices. Thyme was too predominantly the only flavor. My family was divided, some liked the crunchy skin more than my recipe, while others thought it lacked flavor.

Problems:

  1. 450-degrees was too hot. The outside crust had blackened in a few spots before the interior of the chicken could reach 160-degrees. Next time I’ll bake at 425-degrees.
  2. The Melba toast didn’t break down evenly.  I had to add some of the stubborn pieces back in for another 6 or 7 pulses.
  3. I bought salt-free Melba toast, and the recipe lacked salt. Next time I’ll make sure the toast has salt added, or add a teaspoon to the egg wash.  Actually, it lacked so much salt that my younger son refused to eat it, until my older son suggested some salt (at which point he gave it a thumbs-up).

Recipe Rating: 3-1/2 stars.
Cost: $6.80 for 3-lbs of chicken.
How much work? Low
How big of a mess?  Medium.
Start time 6:10pm. Ready at 7:00pm.

Leave a Reply

