Grilled Stuffed Flank Steak

A couple of weeks ago I saw The Italian Grill episode and have been waiting for the opportunity to make both recipes.  Actually, this is the first first time I’ve made both recipes from a single episode back-to-back.  The first half came out great. But it was the second half; the Grilled Stuffed Flank Steak; that really made my mouth water.  Butterflied flank steak stuffed with herbs, prosciutto and provolone.

Yum...The best food I've eaten in months.

Recipe is here. Start by laying the flank steak flat and pre-freezing for 30 minutes, and soaking 10 wooden skewers in water. Meanwhile, make herb paste by combining 2 cloves of garlic, a minced shallot, 2 tablespoons minced parsley, 1 tsp minced sage and 2 tablespoons olive oil. Light a full chimney starter of coals; which will needs about 25 minutes until covered by fine gray ash.  Butterfly the steak leaving about 1/2-inch on the hinge; pound any think spots so evenly thin. Spread herb paste over steak and spread 1/4-lb thinly sliced prosciutto, and 1/4-lb very thinly sliced provolone. Leave an empty strip at the top 2-inches. Roll the flank steak up, carefully tucking in any filling that tries to squeeze upward.  Using kitchen twine tie every inch or so (see photo below). Insert a soaked skewers through each string near the seam (to help hold seam together). Slice between each string to form evenly-thick medallions. Sprinkle both sides with salt and pepper.  Put all charcoal on one side; grill on hot side for 5 to 6 minutes per side until nicely crusted. Move to cooler side, cover, and continue cooking for 5 to 10 minutes more.

This is a 5-star recipe!  This is the best meal I’ve had in months (perhaps since May). The only hard part is the butterflying of the steak; and the dinner is ready in a little more than an hour.

Issues:

  1. I overcooked the meat a little, waiting for a nice even crust. So the flank steak was a little tough. This lowered the rating by 1/2-star, but because of my own issue, not the recipe’s.
  2. I had asked for my prosciutto to be sliced “very thin”, but regular “thin” would have been better.
  3. I had asked for my provolone to be sliced “very thin”, but the deli counter didn’t slice it thin enough. I barely had enough to cover; it should have been sliced thinner.
  4. I had some difficulty finding 2-1/2 pound flank steak. Those 1-1/2 pound baby flank steaks my local ShopRite is pawning off would not do the job. Eventually I found a nice piece of meat at A&P.

Rating: 4-1/2 stars.
Cost: $20.00
How much work? Medium.
How big of a mess?  Small.
Start time 5:00 PM. Dinner time 6:15 PM

6 Responses to Grilled Stuffed Flank Steak

  1. lorri says:

    Looks tasty! I have a thought: in a pinch you could sub. skirt steak? It’s already thin and most times when I buy it, it comes in a long strip. Oh i am sure the flank is best if you do the prep etc… I just mean if u want to make this but do not want to be held to finding the right size/weight flank steak.

  2. I felt very confident after watching them butterfly the steak on ATK!! And for once, it went just as well in my kitchen as in theirs.

    Unfortunately, I can rarely find Skirt Steak without going to the butcher personally. Any idea if it’s more tender than flank steak? My family refuses to eat anything less than medium. This time it came out medium/well; causing toughness.

  3. lorri says:

    Aaaaah, the geographic thing ; – ) Where I live, skirt steak is abundant and usually costs about $1 a pound less. So I guess it’s considered lesser, by the meat dept.

    To answer your question, skirt steak, in my opinion, is more “tender” in that it has a good measure of fat throughout the piece. It is thinner than flank so it cooks very, very fast on the grill (i grill 90% of what I cook). I do like flank steak but yes, it does get tougher when cooked medium and medium well to well. Slicing it against the grain and thinly helps, but not in this case since you’ve pounded it and rolled it.

    Depending on how close you are to your butcher (convenience) and what they charge you, it skirt steak might be a good value and better tasting for you/the whole family. A good option to try some time.

  4. gaf shingles says:

    Those are really cool. Maybe I will try to do this.

  5. Sonya says:

    We LOVED this too!!! We LOVED this too! I made half of it as the variation that uses spinach and pine nuts instead of the prosciutto. Kenji mentioned using Asiago in that one for his article, so while he didn’t say anything about the Asiago in the actual recipe text, I used Asiago with the spinach variation and WOW was that good. As you know!!! The funny thing was that my husband and I both strongly preferred one of the variations over the other (he loved the original with prosciutto and provolone, I loved the spinach/pine nuts variation with Asiago), and found the other one’s favorite kind of “meh”, which I suspect was because of the different flavors of the cheeses. Anyway, this recipe was the BOMB, just amazing decadence on a plate.

Leave a Reply

