Grilled Boneless Turkey Breast

The boys love deli meat for their school lunches, but the ingredient list take up several inches on the packaging (I googled for 30 minutes and couldn’t find a complete list of ingredients published anywhere on web). So last week when I made a Grilled Boneless Turkey Breast for 88-cents a pound, I had the idea to make the recipe again with an eye to using the leftovers for the kids school lunches.Why should I pay $6.99/lb for bunch of additives, when I can make my own for 88-cents a pound?

Homemade Turkey without the chemicals from the deli.

Again, the recipe is here, and my first attempt is here. The cooking times given on ATK are completely inaccurate; 2 hours on the gill (not 1 hour). This time I closed the grill vents almost entirely; just enough to let the fire breath. I took the grill temperature inside the grill all throughout the cooking process. It started out at 425-degrees, and after 1 hour and 45 minutes it was still 325-degrees. So temperature was not the issue. It just needs more cooking time that ATK states.

The turkey came out better than last time. 5-stars. The main difference was the added attention: it came off the grill right at 165-degrees, so was very moist. I also ate this for dinner, with the Mango and Pepper Salsa.

Issues:

  1. Plan for 4 hours from start to finish (2 hours on the grill). Fortunately, it’s almost all unattended waiting/cooking time.
  2. I don’t want to mislead anybody. Considering the discarded bones and neck, it wasn’t truly 88-cents-per pound. With 40% waste, it actually cost $1.23 per pound as deli meat.
  3. Regarding the salsa for dinner, I needed to buy the mango a few days beforehand. That’s the only way to make sure it’s sweet and ripe.

Rating: 5 stars.
Cost: $1.23 per pound (as deli meat).
How much work? Low.
How big of a mess?  Low.
Started: 3 PM.  Ready:  7 PM.

Leave a Reply

