Classic American Garlic Bread

Why did Chris Kimball write a recipe for something everybody knows how to make instinctively? Well it turns out instincts just don’t measure up. This recipe roasts the unpeeled garlic cloves in a small pan before mincing, which softens the harshness of the garlic without diminishing it’s flavor. Also it uses 6 tablespoons of butter, enough to cover the bread but no so much that the bread looses it’s texture. Finally, he recommends skipping the foil (which is something I’ve never used anyway).

Plenty of butter, and the roasted garlic has no harsh or bitter edge.

The complete recipe is here. There are also other versions that I plan to try; the cheese version and the herb version. While roasting 9 to 10 whole, unpeeled garlic cloves for 8 minutes, pre-heat the over to 500-degrees. Combine all ingredients in a bowl and spread evenly over both Italian bread halves. Toast for 8 minutes face-sides up.

Overall 3-1/2 stars. Simple, but very well-balanced. Rich, and definitely not soggy.

Issues:

  1. I have both salted and unsalted butter in the fridge, but I inadvertently grabbed the salted. I should have skipped adding the 1/2 teaspoon of salt.
  2. The bottom crust became too dark before the top toasted at all. Next time I’ll consider moving the oven rack to the bottom and using broil, so that the top (rather than the bottom) gets more toasting.

Rating: 3-1/2 stars.
Cost: $3.
How much work? Very Low.
How big of a mess?  Very Low.
Started: 6 PM.  Ready:  6:20 PM.

3 Responses to Classic American Garlic Bread

  1. lanier says:

    We love the cheese version, and until I re-read the recipe, I didn’t realize you weren’t supposed to broil the bread. I guess I stopped reading the recipe a while ago!

    Broiling is only a problem when I’m drinking wine and don’t assign someone to watch the bread…

  2. […] and enhances its flavors. I made this for lunch/afternoon snack, and it is a variation of the Classic American Garlic Bread that I made two months ago. Richer flavor than regular garlic […]

Leave a Reply

