Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

I realize this post is a little late; as a parent I don’t want to think about Halloween until next year. But I have been so busy that we didn’t carve my sons’ pumpkins until 3pm on Halloween afternoon. This is my first year that I’ve roasted pumpkin seeds since my childhood. While they make a healthy snack (and I made them at my 11-year-old son’s request), there is no way they can compete with piles of candy they’ve already gathered by the time these seeds were ready. Oh well, I guess I’ll eat them all.

One hour can convert these leftovers into a healthy snack.

Chris Kimball uses pumpkin seeds in a few recipes, but doesn’t have a recipe to make them. The technique I used was as follows: Separate the seeds into a bowl, discarding as much pulp as possible. Rinse seeds in cold water and remove remaining pulp. Strain and pat dry with paper towels. Put on slightly oiled baking sheet, toss to cover evenly with oil, then sprinkle with salt, Spread into an even single layer. Roast in a 325-degree for 30 minutes until slightly golden (or your desired degree of doneness), stirring every 10 to 15 minutes to ensure even roasting. Let cool and store in an air-tight container.

Rating: 3-stars.
Cost: Free. (or $25, depending upon your perspective)
How much work? Low.
How big of a mess? Low.
Started: 5:00 pm  Ready:  6:00 pm.

Leave a Reply

