More Potato Wedges

A few weeks ago I made a pound of Crunchy Potato Wedges, and they turned out to be the best snack food that I can remember. So I made them again, but this time made the entire 1-3/4 pounds called for in the recipe. Also, I cut the slices slightly thicker; 3/8-inch, instead of 1/4-inch. They were just as delicious, and I had extra to share with my neighbors.

Made the full 1-3/4 pounds.

The main difference in technique was that I dredged the entire batch at once, instead of doing a handful at a time. So, the entire batch went into the dredge, then into the buttermilk, then back into the dredge. It was easier, and I think that might have been what Chris Kimball had originally intended. It also meant that I didn’t have to add any extra flour/corn starch.

Comments:

  1. The slightly rougher treatment (moving the entire batch at once) meant that a few more of the wedges broken in half. It didn’t affect the taste.
  2. The slightly thicker wedges didn’t appear to affect the recipe; either for better or for worse. The wedges felt a little more substantial at 3/8-inch, and had a little softer interior. They felt noticeably small at just 1/4-inch. I’d suggest trying both sizes.

Rating: 5-stars.
Cost: $2.
How much work? Low.
How big of a mess?  Medium/High.
Started: 2:30 PM.  Lunch:  3:10 PM.

Leave a Reply

