Homemade Pasta & Shrimp Scampi

Shrimp Scampi is one of my favorite meals to make. I’ve made it before, but what makes today different is that I made it with homemade pasta. It adds 1-1/2 hours to the recipe and makes quite a mess, but the boys love fresh pasta and it was fun to make with them. But don’t go it alone; you need an extra hand or the pasta will suffer.

Simple and delicious

The scrimp scampi recipe is the same as I used before; it is a variation on the Cook’s Illustrated recipe.  Since I had never made fresh pasta before, I consulted Chris Kimball’s Fresh Egg Pasta recipe. But I knew that I wanted to use Semolina flour and that I wanted to use my standing mixer rather than my food processor. I used very little of his recipe, instead came up with the following:

Homemade Pasta:
3/4 cups Semolina (aka. Durum) Flour (4-3/8 oz).
3/4 cups Unbleached Flour (4-3/8 oz)
3 egg whites
2 tbsp water
2 tbsp olive oil

Combine flours in bowl of standing mixer, then add beaten egg whites, water and oil. Knead in standing mixer using dough hook for 5 minutes until dough is elastic. Wrap dough in plastic and let rest 20 minutes. Divide into four equal parts. One at a time, run each part through pasta machine starting on setting #1, and gradually working your way to the desired thickness, flouring sheets as necessary. For this recipe, I used setting #4 and had to cut the sheets lengthwise to get my desired length. I then ran the sheets through the spaghetti cutter. Let the pasta dry; I used a wire rack; for 1 hour. To cook, boil for about 2 minutes until tender.

Comments:

  1. I bought my new Pasta Machine on eBay for $26. the post said it was “New in Box”, which may be an overstatement, but it certainly is in pristine condition. Since making pasta was just an experiment, I didn’t want to spend the full $80.
  2. Pasta comes out better with three-to-four hands. One hand to feed the pasta, one to crank the handle and another to pull the pasta from the machine. The fourth hand isn’t strictly required (but they usually come in pairs).
  3. For the first sheet, I didn’t feed it into the cutter but let it drag along the top of the machine. The pasta didn’t cut cleanly. Then Nico tried holding the sheet while feeding, and the pasta came out perfect. Great idea, Nico.

Nico helping to make the fresh pasta for the scampi.

Rating: 4-1/2 stars.
Cost: $8. (including $.80 cents for fresh pasta)
How much work? Medium.
How big of a mess?  Medium.
Started: 4:30 PM.  Dinner:  6:30 PM.

Leave a Reply

