Julia Child and Daube de Boeuf a La Provencale

The traditional 3-day preparation method includes cooking the beef in wine overnight in the fireplace, de-greasing, cooking again, and de-greasing again. So it is little wonder that when I ate my Daube leftovers on the second day, they were just as good as the first day, if not better.

I was in a bookstore on Sunday and read Julia Child’s opinions on Daube, and also looked at her variations and compared them to Chris Kimball’s. Julia translates “Daube de Boeuf á La Provençale” into “Beef Braised in Red Wine in the Style of Provence”. She says that daube is prepared with the meat of a bull recently killed in a bullfight. Also, the word daube comes from the word for casserole, though her recipe also more closely can be described as a hearty stew.

Overall both Chris Kimball’s and Julia Child’s ingredient lists are quite similar. Julia calls for massive 2-1/2 inch cubes of beef, and Chris requires a more comfortable 2-inch.  Julia uses fresh mushrooms, and I had to drive 25-miles to find dry porcini mushrooms. Julia uses bacon, which I always have on-hand. Chris requires a 75%-lean salt pork. Julia uses capers and Chris uses Niçoise olives; which are similar in taste, but I prefer the size of the capers. My only other follow-up to Sunday’s Daube Provencal; I found a two brands of egg noodles are available in 16-oz sizes. Do not buy the 12-oz package because you will not have enough.

I have long ago learned that an ingredient list is not enough to determine which recipe will be better.  So I will also try Julia’s recipe this winter.

My post is here. Chris Kimball’s recipe is here. If you don’t have Julia Child’s book, I found a post that has the basic recipe.

Leave a Reply

