Broiled Shrimp Skewers

With BBQ Season over, I want new ways to use my broiler to soften the change in life-style associated with approaching winter. Last night, I used my broiler to make a variation of Charcoal Grilled Shrimp Skewers (from season 7 of ATK). Because the grill is used to slightly caramelize the shrimp rather than impart a smokey flavor, the variation worked perfectly.

Adapting a summer BBQ for the new seasonal reality

This recipe uses peeled shrimp (with the tails left on), and then nestles them closely onto the skewers. This reduces the surface area, simulates thicker (more expensive) shrimp, and slows the cooking process. In theory, the shrimp will not finish cooking under the broiler, but will finish on the stove-top in the sauce. In my case, the shrimp was cooked all the way through under the broiler, so I served them on the skewers. This was my first 5-star meal in almost two months; since the 30-Minute Taco Salad.

The Broiled Shrimp Skewers recipe is here. Peel and devein the shrimp, but leave the tails on. Thread the shrimp onto 3 to 4 skewers, alternating the directions of the head and tails. Pat dry, brush with 2-tablespoons of olive oil, season with salt and pepper, place on wire rack over foil-lined baking sheet, then broil for 4 minutes; flip for another 2 minutes. The sauce recipe is here; add all the ingredients (except parsley) to a sauce pan, heat until butter is melted and remove from heat, and add parsley just before serving.

I give this recipe 5-stars, though one vote in my family only gave it 4-stars. I used slices of Italian bread to soak up the extra sauce; delicious too. But be warned, the sauce is quite spicy with just 1/2 teaspoon of red pepper flakes; so I’d recommend against the 3/4 teaspoon variation.

Comments:

  1. Insert skewer about 1/3-body-length from head, so that the shrimp nestle properly. If you find that they aren’t nestling properly, adjusting where you insert the skewer will alter then angle of the shrimp and allow for a perfect fit.
  2. The recipe told me to remove the shrimp from the broiler before they were done, and to finish cooking in the sauce. But, by the time my shrimp were slightly charred they were already fully cooked. So I served them on the skewers, and topped with sauce on the plate.
  3. The disposable pie plate used in the sauce recipe should be substituted with a sauce pan. The recipe was designed to go on the grill.
  4. I used wooden skewers, because I don’t have metal ones. Sure, then ends blackened a little, but no real impact.
  5. I always prepare lemon wedges whenever I serve shrimp, but they remained unused for this recipe. It already had plenty of lemon flavor.

Rating: 5-stars.
Cost: $9.
How much work? Low.
How big of a mess?  Medium.
Started: 6:00 PM.  Dinnertime:  6:40 PM.

Leave a Reply

