Happy New Year 2012

January 1, 2012

I want to wish everyone a Happy New Year, and thank you all for your past support and suggestions. 2011 was a fine year, filled with great food and lots of travel. I hope 2012 will be even better. My goal for 2012 will be substantially different that my first two years. Hopefully, the changes will usher in more breadth and introduce my family to new foods that they would otherwise never try.

Welcoming in the New Year at midnight

In 2012, my goal is to make every new recipe that Cook’s Illustrated publishes this year, working through each issue of the magazine in its entirety. No exceptions; no matter how sure I am that nobody in my family will like the recipe. Of course, I will continue to cook additional recipes that Chris Kimball has published in past years; from Cook’s County and America’s Test Kitchen (ATK). Probably some recipes from other sources too.

I have a “bonus” goal this year. I want to prepare a series of articles that fully explain the process of baking bread, in language my 10-year-old son can fully understand and appreciate. Nico asked Santa for a book on baking bread. Though Santa did bring the best book could find, much of the terminology and language is beyond his comprehension. I hope that these articles will continue to foster his love of good food and promote his junior baking skills. One of the greatest lessons a baker must learn is patience; a lesson that will serve him well in life.

