Tabbouleh

For over 15 years I have made the best Tabbouleh I’ve ever eaten. I guess I’m biased, because I make it exactly as I like it. Restaurants always seem to stress the bulgur, and I prefer to stress the fresh ingredients; parsley, tomatoes, lemon.  Today’s recipe is somewhat of a compromise. Chris Kimball uses 6 tablespoons of Bulgur; probably a 33% decrease over an average deli. However, my own recipe used just 2 tablespoons, so that the freshness of the other ingredients really shine. Another interesting thing about today’s recipe is that the Bulgur is soaked; not cooked. This is intended to prevent the wheat from becoming mushy. Overall, it was just okay. I give it 3-stars.

Pretty good; but I think I make better

Comments:

  1. I reduced the recipe by one-third, because that is how much parsley my bunch yielded.
  2. I have only ever eaten Tabbouleh just with pita bread. However, Chris Kimball also says that it can be eating with the crisp inner leaves of romaine lettuce AND pita bread. I didn’t try.

Rating: 3-stars.
Cost: $6.
How much work? Low/Medium.
How big of a mess?  Low/Medium.
Start time 4:30 PM. Finish time 6:30 PM.

Chris Kimball’s original recipe is here. The descriptions of how I prepared and baked the bread today are given below:

2 medium round tomatoes,
Salt and pepper
1/3 cup medium-grind bulgur
3 tablespoon lemon juice (1-1/2 lemons)
1/4-cup extra-virgin olive oil
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 cups fresh parsley, chopped
1/3 cup fresh mint, chopped
1-1/2 scallions

  1. Put bulgur in a fine strainer and rinse with cold water. Allow to drain and put in a small bowl. Add 2 tablespoons on lemon juice from 1/2 a lemon. The grains will need about 40 minutes to begin to soften.
  2. Core the tomatoes and cut them into 1/2″ pieces. Add to a large bowl and combine with 1/4 teaspoon of table salt. Put in a fine strainer placed over the large bowl, and allow to stand for 30 minutes to drain away any excess liquid.
  3. As the tomatoes exude juice, add 2 tablespoons to the bulgur.
  4. About 15 minutes later begin to chop your remaining ingredients. Chop your parsley and fresh mint. Slice your scallions thin, and give them a few chops.
  5. After tomatoes have drained and bulgur has softened, wipe the large bowl dry and which together 2 more tablespoons of lemon juice from 1/2 a lemon, plus olive oil, cayenne pepper and 1/4 teaspoons salt. Gently mix in the tomatoes, bulgur, chopped parsley, mint, scallions.
  6. Cover tightly with plastic wrap and allow to stand at room-temperature for 1 hour.  Toss to recombine the ingredients and adjust the salt and pepper according to your taste.
  7. Serve inside of sliced pita edges.

One Response to Tabbouleh

  1. ev0ve says:

    Very helpful recipe review format!

    I liked this recipe very much. I found it very useful as a starting point. I think I’ll add more bulgar plus diced cucumbers, next time.

    I think the ingredients help one another shine. I appreciate wanting more fresh and less bulgar, but for me it’s almost as if I don’t enjoy the fresh ingredients as well without the blunt backdrop of bulgar.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 376 other followers

