Grilled Fish Tacos with Pineapple/Pepper Salsa

I wanted to make these Grilled Fish Tacos as soon as I saw the new, Latin-themed issue (September/October 2014) of Cook’s Illustrated. While Chris Kimball’s Mexican recipes are usually quite tame, he nevertheless promised fresh and bold flavors. Because fish tacos are usually much more subtle than other types of tacos, I had high hopes that his Yankee-palate could still yield ideal fish tacos. Grilling the fish definitely added flavor, and I was surprised at how well the 1″ fish slices held together on the grill. Not using flaky-fish is very important to this recipe. The fish is served with a pineapple/pepper salsa.

Delicious by lacking heat

Delicious by lacking heat

The tacos are very good. The marinade imparted good flavor to the otherwise subtle fish flavor, but without over powering the fish. Ultimately, however, I think that these tacos are not worth the effort or expense. $41 makes this the most expensive recipe I’ve every made (this was previous most expensive). The recipe was also a little fussy; using two types of chile powder (neither of which I could find). While I liked the Pineapple/Pepper salsa, I also felt that a little more raw heat would have made the tacos more successful. While I wanted to love them, I can only give them a luke-warm 3-1/2 starts.

Comments:

  1. The recipe requires you to avoid common super-market fish, as they are too flaky and will fall apart as you cook them on the grill. Chris Kimball recommends using swordfish, mahi-mahi, tuna, or halibut fillets.  My supermarket only had the requisite 1″-thick fish as swordfish; at $15/lb.
  2. The recipe calls for ancho chile powder and chipotle chile powder. Unfortunately, I didn’t find either variety in my supermarket, nor where the whole, dried peppers in stock. I would have gladly made my own. In the end I used half regular chile powder, which contains ingredients other than just dried chiles.  Cook’s Illustrated did a taste test on Chili Powders here.

Rating: 3-1/2 stars.
Cost: $41.
How much work? Medium.
How big of a mess? Medium.
Start time 4:00 PM. Dinner at 6:00 PM.

Chris Kimball’s original recipe is here. The descriptions of how I prepared it today are given below:

Marinade Ingredients:
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1 tablespoon ancho chile powder
2 teaspoons chipotle chile powder
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon ground coriander
2 garlic cloves
Salt
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1/2 cup orange juice
2 tablespoons lime juice (from 1 lime)

Tacos and Salsa Ingredients:
4 tablespoons lime juice (2 limes)
2 pounds skinless swordfish steaks
1 pineapple
1 jalapeño chile
18 corn tortillas (6-inch)
1 red bell pepper
Lime wedges
2 tablespoons minced fresh cilantro, plus extra for serving
1/2 head iceberg lettuce
1 avocado, halved, pitted, and sliced thin

  1. Peel and mince 2 garlic cloves. Squeeze juice from 1 lime into a small cup.
  2. Place an 8″ skillet over medium burner and pre-heat 2 tablespoons of vegetable oil. Add the 3 tablespoons chili powder (ideally 1 tablespoon ancho chile powder and 1 tablespoon chipotle chile powder); cooking and stirring for 2 to 3 minutes until bubbling. Add 1 teaspoon dried oregano, 1 teaspoon ground coriander, 2 minced garlic cloves, and 1 teaspoon salt. Continue cooking for 30 seconds.
  3. Mash 2 tablespoons tomato paste into mixture in the skillet and cook for 2 seconds, then mix in 1/2 cup orange juice and 2 tablespoons of lime juice. Allow to reduce slightly while constantly stirring for 2 minutes. Empty mixture into a medium bowl and allow to cool for 15 minutes.
  4. When cooled, cut fish lengthwise into 1″-wide strips and add to bowl with chile mixture. Use a rubber spatula the carefully coat fish. Cover bowl with plastic wrap and refrigerate for between 30 minutes and 2 hours.
  5. Prepare your charcoal grill by opening all bottom and top vents completely. Fill and ignite a chimney starter mounding with briquettes (7-quarts). After 20 minutes or so when the top coals become partially covered with white ash, empty lit coats evenly over entire grill. Set grill grate in place, cover and allow to pre-heat for 5 minutes.
  6. While the charcoal ignites, prepare the salsa ingredients. Peel the pineapple and cut lengthwise into quarters. Cut away the core and the cut each quarter in half lengthwise (resulting in 8 pieces the full length of the pineapple).  Remove the stem and seeds from your bell pepper, cut into 1/4″-wide strips then cut cross-wise into 1/4″ pieces.
  7. Also prepare a plate with lime wedges, extra cilantro, thinly sliced iceberg lettuce,
  8. Clean the pre-heated grill grate by brushing with well-oiled paper towels. Repeat the process 5 to 10 times until the grate becomes glossy and black.
  9. Put the fish on half of the grill. Brush both side of the pineapple with a total of 1 tablespoon vegetable oil. Put pineapple and whole jalapeno on the other half the grill.
  10. Cover grill and cook for 3 to 5 minutes, until the first side begins to brown. Use a thin spatula to carefully flip fish, pineapple and jalapeno.  Re-cover and continue cooking for 3 to 5 more minutes until the internal temperature of the fish reaches 140-degrees. Put fish on a large plate, flake it breaking into pieces, then tent with foil. Put pineapple on cutting board.
  11. Briefly clean the grill grate, and warm the tortillas in batches for 30 to 45 seconds per side, until they are speckled with brown spots. Wrap tortillas in a dish towel or aluminum foil to keep warm. Repeat with remaining tortillas.
  12. Finely chop pineapple and jalapeno, and add to bowl you your peppers and cilantro. Stir in 4 tablespoons lime juice and adjust salt according to your taste.
  13. To assemble tacos, top the tortillas with fish, salsa, lettuce and avocado, serving with wedges of lime extra chopped cilantro.
Shown here before the toppongs

Shown here before the toppongs

9 Responses to Grilled Fish Tacos with Pineapple/Pepper Salsa

  1. Anonymous says:

    CK’s aversion to anything remotely “spicy” is well known and makes me always distrust anything in anyway described as such. Many thanks for your efforts to create these dishes.

  2. rhijulbec says:

    Hello! Once again I opened my email to one of your wonderful recipes. I do so look forward to each installment. I watch the show but always wondered how it translated to a home kitchen. Each recipe you try and your honest appraisal of it are just perfect. I have actually made some of the recipes according to YOUR instructions rather than the actual recipe.lol

    A couple of remarks:
    1. I could not find the actual weight of fish is required for this recipe. I am assuming a full pound but just in case would you please add an addendum to clarify?

    2. A statement about the use of chili powder wasn’t quite finished as so “In the end I used half regular chile powder, which is .” Again to clarify…did you mean use half the amount of chili as both the other chili powders combined?

    Look forward to many more recipes. Thanks

    PS: I did not have a good experience when I signed up for my “free” trial and membership for Cook’s Illustrated, so cannot access the recipes unfortunately.

    • Yes, I agree about the trial memberships. I have received more than one notice that they were going to submit me to a collections agency. 😦 So far they never have.

      • rhijulbec says:

        I signed up or the trial, perused the site and was quite pleased until the time for the first payment came up and it was over $15.00 more because I am Canadian. I wrote and asked why internet content was more expensive. I thought they thought I wanted a paper copy of the magazine…but no, that’s the price for Canadians. Needless to say I cancelled post haste. How bizzare they charge so much more for digital content! Took me almost three months of almost daily emails to get my money back as well. I have read if you buy anything from there you are then sent books every month whether you ask for them or not. Reminds me of those old book and record clubs where you had to send in a card to stop them from shipping books or records. That type of marketing is illegal here. So sadly I dont have access to any of the web content.

        Again I am sorry for not fully reading the recipe above and I beg you to keep doing this because the only thing between Chris and I, is you! I need you to keep publishing these excellent recipes. Thanks…Jenn.

  3. rhijulbec says:

    I KNEW it, I knew it would happen! As soon as I posted the above I saw 2 pounds of fish. *blush, blush* I am so sorry…

  4. rhijulbec says:

    Shoot! I give up! I am sorry, yet again…*sigh* chili question answered.

  5. Andy M says:

    Ancho and chipotle chili powder: Go to the Mexican section of your grocery store (mine has a big display next to the produce department of all kinds of dried Mexican ingredients), buy the dried chipotle and ancho peppers. Put them on a sheet in a 300 degree oven (one of each is just about the right amount for this recipe), and roast them for about 8 to 10 minutes. Let them cool for about 5 minutes. Cut off the top/stem, shake out the seeds and membranes, then grind them into powder.

    I have a cheap blade coffee grinder that I use only for grinding spices.

Leave a Reply

