Sauteed Corn with Black Beans and Red Bell Pepper

The current issue has a lot of latin-themed recipes, so I served this as a side-dish. The flavors was very well balanced and enjoyable. I followed the instructions that stressed not moving the corn, but didn’t hear any clear popping after 5 minutes. It’s possible that my skillet might not have been hot enough.  Overall, I was please with the outcome, but it was a little more of a mess than I would normally want for a salad. 3-1/2 stars.

Refreshing corn and bean salad

Refreshing corn and bean salad

Rating: 3-1/2 stars.
Cost: $4.75.
How much work? Medium.
How big of a mess? Medium.
Start time 4:00 PM. Dinner at 6:00 PM.

Chris Kimball’s original recipe is here. The descriptions of how I prepared it today are given below:

2 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/2 red onion
1/2 red bell pepper
1 jalapeño chile
1 garlic clove
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
Salt
15-oz can black beans
3 ears corn
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
2-3 tablespoons lime juice (from 2 limes)

  1. Cut the corn kernels for cobs and set aside. You should have 3 cups.
  2. Cut bell pepper into 1/4″ pieces. Finely chop your red onion. Remove the step and seeds from your jalapeno, then mince. Rinse your black beans.
  3. Put a 12″ non-stick skillet over medium burner, and 1 tablespoon vegetable oil and allow to pre-heat for 2 minutes. Saute the onion, bell pepper and jalapeno for 4 to 6 minutes, until the onion has softened.
  4. Add mined garlic, 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin, and 1/4 teaspoon salt. Continue to cook for 1 more minute.
  5. Add rinsed bean and warm for 1 minute and empty skillet into a large serving bowl. Wipe the skillet with a paper towel.
  6. Turn up the burner to medium-high and preheat 1 more tablespoon vegetable oil until it begins to shimmer. Add corn kernels and sprinkle with 1/2 teaspoon salt. Cook for about 3 minutes without stirring until the corn begins to pop. Stir and until the corn becomes spotty brown; for about 3 minutes longer. Empty into serving bowl.
  7. Add cilantro and 2 tablespoons lime juice, stir until combined and season with salt and remaining lime juice to taste.
6 Responses to Sauteed Corn with Black Beans and Red Bell Pepper

  1. Ginger Dunlap says:

    Love what you’re doing!

  2. rhijulbec says:

    I have one question for you. Do you follow the recipe exactly as it is done on tv/magazine? I was wondering how many you are feeding on a regular basis and if you make any additions or deductions according to your family size rather than the number of servings in the recipe. There are only two of us, both adults over 50 and some of the recipes make too much. I am a capable cook and can reduce the recipes accordingly but was wondering if you have to alter amounts or anything. Thanks. I do so look forward to your posts!

    • Hi,

      Usually the first time I make a recipe I make it exactly as written. The main exception to that is when a sauce recipe yields way to much sauce, then I will cut down the amounts to match the main course. For example, I don’t need an extra quart of bbq sauce that needs to be used within a week.

      I am usually feeding between 3 and 4 people, in which case I follow the recipe and may end up with leftovers (i.e. lunch). But if you are just 2 people and aren’t crazy about leftovers, then you can usually cut the recipe in half.

      Thanks,
      Mark

  3. Katie C. says:

    I make something very similar to this. I add smoked paprika which adds so much to the mixture. Now here’s the big difference, I use it to make quesadeas (I know I spelled that wrong. I took French not Spanish in HS but I think you know what I’m saying) with a bit of cheese for glue. Heat them in the oven or a dry non-stick skillet. Good vegetarian lunch! So, if you have leftovers – use them for this!

    ps I have recently found a new spice: smoke powder – it comes in different flavors, It’s sort of the powder version of liquid smoke. A little goes a long way. I put some in the chili I was making and it was amazing!

  4. Katie C. says:

    I live in Virginia. I got Mesquite Smoke at the Spice & Tea Exchange store in Alexandria, VA. Apparently, it’s a chain? Anyway, there are a lot of other flavors too. They also had smoke flavored salt. I got some Applewood Smoked Sea Salt. I think I love this store 😉

Leave a Reply

