Christmas Menu

Growing the main course of my Christmas dinners was always turkey, but later in life I felt that its was a repetitive waste; given Thanksgiving was less than a month ago. Since becoming a father I have tried to give my kids much richer culinary traditions. I hope whatever traditions you have in your home, that everyone has a very Merry Christmas, surrounded by people they love. The food is, after all, just icing on the cake.

Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas

This year the Christmas menu has a bit of a French flair. As I publish the results in the upcoming week, I will update these links from Chris Kimball’s original recipes to point to my results.

Baguette. This simple requires a few things that I don’t have, like a special canvas, lame as diastatic malt powder. I will make do without.
Onion Soup. 5 hours in the making, but delicious and I was able to make it two days ago.
Blanched Green Beans with Rosemary-Thyme Aioli.
Pommes Anna. Beautifully decorative potato cake.
Boeuf à la mode. A French beef roast
Apple Tart. A beautiful rendition on an American Pie. A work of art.

 

3 Responses to Christmas Menu

  1. Sonya says:

    Sounds VERY delicious!!!

  2. C says:

    If it’s the tart I’m thinking of (melted butter crust), the crust was easy and turned out fine, and the tart was gorgeous, but the filling tasted OK but not amazing. I know someone who makes one by Julia Child — plan to try that filling in the future.

Leave a Reply

