Merry Christmas 2011

On Christmas eve our family visited some Peruvian Friends for Dinner, as has become our tradition for the past 5 or 6 years. In Latin American culture, Christmas is celebrated on Christmas Eve at midnight. This year our friend made everything herself; all of which turned out fantastic. My favorite of which was her turkey-breast stuffed with ham and Swiss cheese, though everything turned out great. I brought two loaves of freshly-baked ciabatta and a nice bottle of Argentine Malbec. Despite the crust on the ciabatta being about 2-minutes overdone, the crumb was still perfectly soft. I was worried, but the loaves quickly disappeared.

Crowded; this was as close as I could get.

Christmas dinner was quiet with just the four members of our family. I prepared a Cider-Baked Christmas Ham, which I saw on a new episode of Cook’s Country. It was filled with apple flavor, but the texture was somewhat dry because I used a spiral sliced ham. The ham was accompanied with these holiday scalloped potatoes and some green beans, which were a blend of the following two recipes; green beans with bacon and special green beans. I will post the details of these dishes over the next few days.

My photo above the the famed Rockefeller Christmas Tree. A few weeks ago we had a four-course Italian dinner, and saw the Christmas window displays of the department stores on 5th Avenue. As always, New York is always so full of energy.

Leave a comment