Superbowl Chili Cheese Pigs-in-a-Blanket

February 3, 2014

Admittedly it was a crazy idea. As this was the closest I’ve ever been to a Superbowl; 15 miles; I wanted to make traditional Superbowl fare to share with my two sons. I was torn between (A) chili cheese dogs, and (B) pigs in a blanket. Then one of my sons suggested that I make both; so (C) was obviously a combination of A and B. I already had some leftover 4-1/2 star ground beef chili, so it was just adding my existing 3-1/2 star Pigs-in-a-Blanket recipe instead of using regular hot dog buns. The results, were just 3-stars, but Superbowl Food is seldom delicious, and with just my two sons and myself, today is more about football than food.

Not a typo. Chili Cheese Pigs in a Blanket.

Not a typo. Chili Cheese Pigs in a Blanket.

Of course, Chris Kimball doesn’t have a recipe for pigs-in-a-blanket. While I used my standard recipe, the dough turned out to be too sweet. The sweetness did not compliment the chili. I’ve modified the recipe below, in case I ever decide to make them again.

While I’ve never “lived” in Seattle, I did have a Washington State Id Card with my sister’s Seattle address, though I was traveling the world for about 5 years. Eventually I settled down to New Jersey, about 10 miles from the location of the Superbowl. So I was pleased with the outcome, though would have enjoyed a closer game.

Rating: 3-stars.
Cost: $8.
How much work? Low/Medium.
How big of a mess?  Low.
Start time 4:30 PM. Game time 6:30 PM.

Not surprisingly, Chris Kimball doesn’t have a recipe for PIBs. Here are the descriptions of how I cooked them today. Below is the modified recipe so that the dough is less sweet, because of the added chili:

1 Tablespoon (1 package) active dry yeast
1 teaspoon sugar
1/2 cup warm milk
1/2 cup warm water
1 egg
3 tablespoons shortening
1 teaspoon salt
3-2/3 cups all-purpose flour
2 packages of hot dogs
10 slices American cheese

  1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees, then immediately turn it off. If you have a warm kitchen, the you can just proof the dough on your countertop.
  2. Heat the water/milk in pyrex measuring cup for 55 seconds in microwave, until liquid reaches 110 degrees. Add the yeast and 1 teaspoon sugar, stir and let stand for 5 minutes. Finally, add shortening (or butter) and mix in egg.
  3. Add flour and salt to bowl of standing mixer. With standing mixer on lowest setting (equipped with a dough hook), slowly add liquid ingredients until roughly combined; about 1 minute. Increase speed to medium-high (setting 6 on a KitchenAide) and knead until smooth and elastic, about 5 minutes.
  4. Stray large bowl with kitchen spray. Add dough and turn once to grease top. Cover tightly with plastic wrap and let rise in a warm but turned off oven until doubled, about 45 minutes.
  5. Remove dough from oven and pre-heat the oven for at least 10 minutes to 350-degrees.
  6. Place hot dogs on wire rack set over a foil-lined baking sheet. Pre-bake plain hot dogs (without breading) for 10 minutes at 350-degrees. Let cool briefly and dry with paper towels. Discard foil and line baking sheet with parchment paper.
  7. Gently empty dough onto a floured surface. Divide the dough into 2 even halves (one per package). If only making one package of hot dogs today, tightly wrap one half of the dough in plastic wrap, then place in plastic shopping bag and place in refrigerator for up to 4 days.
  8. On a floured counter roll out half the dough into a large rectangle, measuring so that the dough extends 3″ longer than your hot dogs. Use a paring knife to cut into approximate size.  Lay out hot dog on edge of dough, then set the cheese alongside. Add chili along the length of the hot dog (see photo below). Wrap each hot dog a place seem-side down on prepared baking sheet.
  9. Allow to rise for 30 minutes or refrigerator for up to one day before baking. Bake at 350-degrees for 17 to 18 minutes or until golden brown.
  10. Makes enough dough for 10 to 12 chili cheese pigs-in-a-blanket or two packages of chili-less hot dogs.